Willow Brook beats Hollytree in Triggs Cup

Kyle Deshazo hits from the bunker on the fifth hole of the Triggs Cup at Willow Brook Country Club on Saturday. (Sarah A. Miller | Tyler Morning Telegraph)

Host Willow Brook Country Club cruised to a 15-7 win over Hollytree Country Club on Saturday to capture the 2011 Triggs Cup.

The closest competition came in the afternoon singles where Willow Brook won 7-5.

Joel Hackney and Derek Mitchell went undefeated for WBCC on Saturday, winning 6 and 5 in the alternate shot foursome before they each won in singles.

Willow Brook took an 8-2 lead into the singles format. Hollytree's lone team win Saturday came from Reggie Howell and George McMann.

The annual golf event began Friday with fourball matches.

2011 Triggs Cup

At Willow Brook CC

Final: Willow Brook 15, Hollytree 7

Second Round, Alternate Shot Foursome



Kyle DeShazo-Byron Triggs, WB, def. Steve Mills-Chris Ewert, 5 and 3; Joel Hackney-Derek Mitchell, WB, def. Joe Smith-John Carlton, HT, 6 and 5; Kyle Janik-Galloway Calhoun, WB, def. James Mills-Phillip Talley, HT, 5 and 3; Jeff King-Drew Gillen, WB, def. Jimmy Wheeler-Chris Phillips, HT, 3 and 2; Reggie Howell-George McMann, HT, def. Jerod Niles-Jared Green, WB, 2 up.

Final Round



Gillen, WB, def. Wheeler, HT; Howell, HT, def. King, WB; Talley, HT, def. Calhoun, WB; Smith, HT, def. Janik, WB; Don Robert Johnson, WB, def. Steve Mills, HT; Carlton, HT, def. Clay Cavender, WB; Hackney, WB, def. McMann, HT; Mitchell, WB, def. Chris Phillips, HT; John Hammond, HT, def. Triggs, WB; DeShazo, WB, def. James Mills, HT; Niles, WB, def. Jeff Skrocki, HT; Green, WB, def. Ewert, HT.


Recommended for you

Load comments