When the Mount Pleasant Splash swim team comes to town, the Tyler Titans know they have to do their best.

The Titans did just that and pulled out a very close win over the tough squad from MP at the Tyler ISD Aquatic Center.

The Titans won the meet with 1,083 points, followed by Mount Pleasant (985), Tyler Rose Aquatic Club (791) and the Marshall Marlins (140).

Mount Pleasant won the first two relays of the morning to take the early lead, but the Titans answered back by winning the medley relays in the 11-12, 13-14, and 15-and-over age groups. The Splash took over the lead again with wins in the 8-and-under girls freestyle just to see the Titans’ Yeshua Cabrera and YuFei Wang answer back for the boys.

Wyatt Hurst and Isaac Hartnauer went one-two in the 11-12 boys free, and Mark Eberhard won the 15-and-over free to add to the Titans’ lead.

Jennifer Montier and Alex Zheng both won their age group in the 100 free. Four-year-old Skylar Aranguren looked great while winning the backstroke against 5- and 6-year old girls. Four-year-old Carolyn Whitener matched Aranguren’s feat by winning the breaststroke in the same age group.

Leading the Titans this week were Wyatt Hurst, Jennifer Montier and Michael Green as they each won all five of their events and relays.

However, to beat a team as good as Mount Pleasant, you need everyone, the Titans coaches said.

The remainder of the Titans team includes: Caroline Marshall, Avery Mallett, Taylor Welch, Amelia Ward, Marriah Greene, Yeshua Cabrera-Ramirez, Jack Eberhard, YuFei Wang, Micah May, Luke Donnan, Lauren Bryant, Grace Wilson, Christian Henry, Daniel Minick, John Eberhard, Anna Matthews, Ellie Cooley, Jenna Wortham, Isaac Hartnauer, Alex Zheng, Campbell Lavender, Ashley Taylor, Naomi Moody, Hannah McKinney, Annabelle Rice, Emily Clayton, Joshua Hartnauer, Gabriel Rogers, Seth Wilson, Harrison Mallett, Mark Eberhard, Micah Beard, Emalee Dupuis, Lindsey Jones, Lilligrace Bazzell, Alex Zheng, Aidan Vann, Joshua Barry, Carson Cooley, Skylar Aranguren, Molly Whitener, Emily Martin, Jewel Montier, Lillian Ward, Penelope Butler, Austin Kelley, Isaac Wilson, Brandon Zheng, Kayla Minick, Landon Chaney, Jake Mallett, Luke Wood, Leah Dupuis, Rylann Loper, Audrey Green, Weston Hurst, Waylon Hurst, James Milan, Macen Beard, Jett Manley and Titus Campbell. Those listed all earned points in individual events.

In an unusual event for summer swim, coaches entered a few events this weekend with Titans coaches Bailey Bickerstaff and Layton Anderson winning all of their events against coaches from other teams.

The final swim meet of the summer season will be on Saturday at the TISD Aquatic Center on the corner of Earl Campbell Blvd. with all the Tyler Titans, Mount Pleasant, Tyler TRAC, Nacogdoches, Lufkin, Marshall, Palestine and Longview competing to be the 2019 East Texas Summer Swim League champs.


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments