Robert E. Lee senior Abby Halbrook won the Tyler Lee Cross Country Classic for a third-straight year with her teammate, Mary Claire Neal, joining her on the podium in second place.

Halbrook finished the 5K Open Varsity Girls race in a time of 18 minutes, 51 seconds with Neal crossing the line with a time of 19 minutes, 29 seconds. In 3-5 were runners from Forney, led by Caylon McMillan (19:40.14).

The meet was held Saturday morning on the campus of UT Tyler featured 50 teams and over 1,200 runners. UT Tyler is also now the site for this fall's District 12-5A cross country meet.

The winning girls team in the Varsity 5K was Kaufman, thanks to all six of its runners finishing in the top 15. Halbrook and Neal helped push the Lady Raiders to a second-place finish with Forney finishing third.

All six Lady Raider runners finished in the top 40 with Megan Ybarra 19th, Erica Overmeyer 21st, Claire Carnes 27th and Claire Newberry 31st.

Prior to the meet, Lee coach was bullish about how the Lady Raiders would perform at this meet and going forward.

"I want to see them grow together as a team," Baker said. "We won district last year, but this team has the potential of being a lot stronger.

The Lee Boys team finished seventh overall in the Open 5K with Ian Estrada running a time of 16 minutes, 35 seconds to take fifth individually. Hector Lopez of Diboll was first in the race with a time of 16 minutes, 13 seconds. In second was Sam Farrell of Lufkin Hudson with Even Barron of Pine Tree third.

The REL boys team finished as follows: David Cook (32), Isaiah Davison (38), Tlaloc Castro (57), William Shelton (60), Phillip White (70) and Aziel Cornelio (72).

The top team was Hallsville Gold, thanks to five of their seven runners finishing in the top 16. Rounding out the top five were Kaufman, Hudson, Pine Tree and Rockwall.

REL's boys and girls team are running several freshmen, all of which posted solid times at this event. The Red Raiders were without Estrada last week at Hallsville and still performed well. This makes Baker feel strong about the present and future.

"Things are really looking good at Robert E. Lee cross country right now," Baker said.

In the 1A-3A girls race (2 miles), Hudson's Christina Hernandez won in a time of 12 minutes, 32 seconds with Alissa Larsen of Lakeside second and Beth Maddox from Van in third. The team competition saw Hudson, Eustace and Hawkins take the top three spots.

In the 1A-3A boys race (2 miles), Mark Zimmerer of Eustace Gold was first in a time of 16 minutes and 59 seconds with Nathan George of Miller Grove in second and Eric Greene of Lakeside third. In the team competition, Pleasant Grove was first with Eustace second and Miller Grove third.

Selected results are below. For complete results of the Tyler Lee CC Classic, go to


Tyler Lee Cross Country Classic

Saturday at UT Tyler

Girls Varsity Open Division (5K)

Individual — 1, Abby Halbrook, Robert E. Lee, 18:51.50; 2, Mary Neal, Robert E. Lee, 19:29.96; 3, Caylon McMillan, Forney, 19:40.14; 4, Lauryn Barrientos, Forney, 19:43.52; 5, Kiana Hawn, Forney, 19:43.88. Area top 10: 8, Sharon Kariampuzha, Bishop Gorman, 20:38.76.

Team — 1, Kaufman (53); 2, Robert E. Lee (70); 3, Forney (75); 4, Rockwall (139); 5, Bishop Gorman (171).

Boys Varsity Open Division (5K)

Individual — 1, Hector Lopez, Diboll, 16:13.06; 2, Sam Farrell, Hudson, 16:14.20; 3, Evan Barron, Pine Tree, 16:31.51; 4, Dylan Evans, Kaufman, 16:34.18; 5, Ian Estrada, Robert E. Lee, 16:35.25. Area top 10: 7, Jeffrey Dylan Watson, Lindale, 16:49.70.

Team — 1, Hallsville Gold (59); 2, Kaufman (121); 3, Lufkin Hudson (136); 4, Pine Tree (176); 5, Rockwall (179).

1A-3A Girls (2 miles)

Individual — 1, Christina Hernandez, Lufkin Hudson, 12:32.75; 2, Alissa Larsen, Lakeside, 12:36.16; 3, Beth Maddox, Van, 12:51.38; 4, Grace Campbell, Cumby, 12:51.84; 5, Karty Ratcliff, Hudson, 13:13.92. Area Top 10: Jacey Preston, Bullard, 13:26.25.

Team — 1, Lufkin Hudson (38); 2, Eustace (78); 3, Hawkins (145); 4, Spring Hill (160); 5, Cushing (177).

1A-3A Boys (2 miles)

Individual — 1, Mark Zimmerer, Eustace Gold, 16:59.12; 2, Nathan George, Miller Grove, 16:59.95; 3, Eric Greene, Lakeside, 17:36.83; 4, Sostenese Sanchez, Pleasant Grove, 17:52.09; Chase Denson, Pleasant Grove, 17:54.62. Area Top 10: 8, Sergio Rubalcava, Kilgore, 18:11.20; 9, Marcus Allen, Big Sandy, 18:14.09; 10, Hunter Rose, Eustace, 18:25.28.

Team — 1, Pleasant Grove (59); 2, Eustace Gold (83); 3, Miller Grove (116); 4, Kilgore (130); 5, New Summerfield (161).