Hollytree champion David Bridges

Hollytree Country Club pro Scott Warner (left) presents the Men’s Club Golf Championship

trophy to

David Bridges after Sunday’s final round at

Hollytree Country Club.

Teeing off on the 53rd hole of the 54-hole tournament, David Bridges and two-time champion Paul Manziel were tied.

On the par 4 No. 17, Bridges birdied with an 8-foot putt while Manziel missed a 30-footer. On 18, both parred as Bridges captured his first Hollytree Men’s Club Golf Championship on a brutally hot Sunday afternoon at Hollytree Country Club.

“It feels really good to win,” said Bridges, who had a three-round total 3-over 219 to claim the title by a stroke over Manziel (73-72-75—220). Manziel won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005.

Bridges, who played at Longview High School, said he has participated in several NTPGA/STPGA and USAGA amateur events. It was his fifth time to take part in the Hollytree tourney.

Trey Brooks, who recently participated in the 49th Tanos Exploration II/Patterson-UTI Drilling Texas State Open at The Cascades Golf & Country Club, placed third with a 222 (76-73-73). Tying for fourth with 224s were 2016 champion Mike Custer (72-77-75), Jerry Hudgins (75-71-78) and James Mills (77-75-72).

Johnny Manziel, the 2012 Heisman Trophy winner at Texas A&M, carded a 229 (78-75-76) to tie for seventh in the 24-man field with Nolen Howard (80-77-72).

Jeff Cotten won the First Flight with a 153 (78-75), followed by Brandon Johnston at 155 (81-74). Chris Phillips was the net champion at 142.

In Second Flight, John Hammond took first place with a 156 (82-74) with Terry Blevins second at 158 (79-79). Erik Struck claimed the net title with a 142.

Taking the Third Flight was Tom Stanfield with a 154 (76-78). Shane Norwood was second at 165 (79-86). Eddie Dow claimed the net crown with a 144.

Brad Barton (90-89—179) won the Fourth Flight by two strokes over Jay Pirtle (96-85—181). Travis Hunt topped the net division with a 149.

NOTES: Other former champions in the 36th annual tournament field were Chris Ewert (2012), Darin Newhouse (2001, 2006, 2007, 2015) and Joe Smith (2017).

Defending champion and four-time winner Reggie Howell (2003, 2011, 2014, 2018) passed away in January.

The late Jimmy Wheeler holds the record of eight titles (1984, 1986, 1988, 1992, 1994, 2008, 2009, 2010) with Andy Wall second with six (1985, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1997, 1999). Newhouse and Howell follow with four each. Les Loggins (1996, 2002) and David Ward (1998, 2000) each have two crowns.

Other champions include: James Williams (1989), Chris Beall (1993), Adam Flynn (1995) and Ryan Slaughter (2013).


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments