Robert E. Lee senior Taylor Tankersley enjoyed the best season of his career and the rest of District 12-5A took notice, voting the guard/small forward the Offensive Player of the Year for the All-District 12-5A boys basketball team.

Tankersley averaged 18 points per game this season and 7.1 rebounds to lead the Red Raiders to their first playoff appearance since 2007. Tankersley also was lethal from 3-point range, making 54 shots from beyond the arc.

He is joined on the all-district team by teammates Caleb Johnston and Tucker Boyd. Johnston, a junior, was chosen for the all-district first team after averaging nearly a double-double per game this season while Boyd, a senior guard, averaged 2.4 assists per game.

District champion Mesquite was paced by senior guard Alex Cooper, who was chosen Co-MVP, along with Anthony Sharp, who helped Mesquite Horn finish as district runner-up.


District 12-5A Boys Basketball Team


Co-Most Valuable Players — Alex Cooper, Sr., Mesquite; Anthony Sharp, Sr., Mesquite Horn

Offensive Player of the Year — Taylor Tankersley, Sr., Robert E. Lee

Co-Defensive Player of the Years — Jordan Whitaker, Jr., Longview; Mike Williams, Sr., North Mesquite

Co-Newcomer of the Years — Tyler Zivney, Fr., Rockwall-Heath; Adrian Chevis, Soph., Mesquite Horn

Coach of the Year — Brian Curts, Mesquite

First Team — Caleb Johnston, Jr., Robert E. Lee; Norman Alexander, Sr., North Mesquite; Zach Charles, Sr., Mesquite Horn; Dorian Leonard, Jr., Longview; Zay Henderson, Jr., Longview; Camron Talley, Fr., Rockwall-Heath; Aaron Maxwell, Sr., Rockwall; Rashard Higgins, Sr., Mesquite; Davion Keys, Sr., Mesquite; Skylar Simmons, Jr., Rockwall.

Second Team — Tucker Boyd, Sr., Robert E. Lee; Dameon Gamblin, Sr., Mesquite; Jarrison Stewart, Soph., Mesquite Horn; Luke Ramirez, Jr., Rockwall-Heath; Will Dougherty, Sr., Robert E. Lee; Jackson Zivney, Soph., Rockwall-Heath; Cadell Williams, Jr., Longview; Travin Howard, Jr., Longview; De’john Shealey, Jr., Mesquite; Javonte Wilson, Sr., Mesquite.

All-Academic (Lee only) — Tucker Boyd; John Brattlof, Jack Calhoun, Justin DeSalvo, Will Dougherty, Austin Fleet, Caleb Johnston, Taylor Tankersley.

Recommended for you