Robert E. Lee freshman setter Aliyah Shirley was named Newcomer of the Year on the 2016 all-District 11-6A volleyball team.

Shirley, daughter of Lady Raiders head coach Ronda Shirley, was the lone East Texan to garner superlative honors on the team, which was dominated by Rockwall-Heath.

The district champion Hawks were rewarded with the Coach of the Year (Maggie Younger), co-Most Valuable Player (Lorin McNeil), Libero MVP (Berkley Adams) and Setter MVP (Noelle Helms).

McNeil shared MVP honors with Rockwall’s Bayleigh Scott, whose teammates Ginger Stephenson (Server MVP) and Maddie James (co-Blocker MVP) also earned superlatives. Mesquite Horn’s Taylor Anderson shared the co-Blocker MVP honor while her teammate Rachel Williams was named Attacker MVP.

Joining Shirley on the squad was Lee first-team selection April Brown, a junior middle blocker.

John Tyler’s lone all-district selection was Daz Johnson, chosen second team as a senior middle blocker.

Also on the second team was Lady Raiders senior outside hitter Deja Hamilton.



2016 All-District 11-6A Volleyball Team

Co-Most Valuable Player - Lorin McNeil, Sr. MB, Rockwall-Heath; Bayleigh Scott, Sr. MB/RS, Rockwall

Newcomer of the Year - Aliyah Shirley, Fr. S, Robert E. Lee

Attacker MVP - Rachel Williams, Sr. OH, Mesquite Horn

Co-Blocker MVP - Maddie James, Jr. MB, Rockwall; Taylor Anderson, Jr. RS, Mesquite Horn

Libero MVP - Berkley Adams, Jr. L, Rockwall-Heath

Server MVP - Ginger Stephenson, Jr. L, Rockwall

Setter MVP - Noelle Helms, Jr. S, Rockwall-Heath

Coach of the Year - Maggie Younger, Rockwall-Heath

First Team

Keteria Hilley, Sr., North Mesquite; Hayden Holloway, Sr. L, Mesquite Horn; Nikki Bell, Sr. MB, Longview; April Brown, Jr. MB, Robert E. Lee; Kim Iwunze, Sr. MB, Rockwall; Keira Eynon, Sr. OH, Longview; Te’Adra Johnson, Sr. OH, Mesquite; Maddison Parmelly, Soph. OH, Rockwall-Heath; Marissa Roof, Sr. OH, Rockwall; Kayla Cook, Jr. RS, Rockwall-Heath; Lauren Smith, Sr. RS, Rockwall-Heath; Kaila Harris, Sr. S, Mesquite Horn.

Second Team

Kaylee Chuang, Sr. DS, Rockwall; Gabby Idlebird, Jr. MB, Mesquite Horn; Daz Johnson, Sr. MB, John Tyler; Nicole Sands, Soph. MB, Rockwall-Heath; Nicholette Dillard, Sr. OH, Rockwall-Heath; Kennedy Eynon, Jr. OH, Longview; Victoria Garza, Jr. OH, Rockwall; Jordin Goree, Sr. OH, Mesquite Horn; Deja Hamilton, Sr. OH, Robert E. Lee; Laci Baker, Sr. S, Mesquite Horn; Emily Chapin, Sr. S, Rockwall; Taylor Jones, Soph. S, Rockwall-Heath

Recommended for you