Whitehouse and Lindale both finished 11-1 in District 16-5A and both shared the spoils on the all-district volleyball team.

Lindale junior outside hitter Rhyan Rand was named the Most Valuable Player while senior teammate Travicia Acy earned Blocker of the Year.

Whitehouse, which took the top seed into the playoffs on a tiebreaker, nabbed four superlatives. Senior Ashton Ates was Hitter of the year, senior Amanda Dimon Defensive Player/Libero of the Year, senior Ronnie Fountain Setter of the Year and Britney Nordin Coach of the Year.

The LadyCats finished 28-12 and went further than any district team in the playoffs.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Corsicana sophomore Calie Bwicheilug.

Rand, the All-East Texas Newcomer of the Year last season, finished her campaign with 176 kills, 15 blocks and 97 percent serving while averaging 3.4 digs per set. Acy had 45 solo blocks and 202 kills.

Ates powered the Whitehouse offense with 429 kills, 75 blocks, 41 aces and 133 digs. Fountain dished out 1,066 assists to go with 357 digs, 32 aces, 97 kills and 14 blocks. Dimon was the team's digs leader with 714 along with 55 aces and 48 kills.

John Tyler, which finished fourth in the district behind Corsicana, had two first-team selections: senior Deedy Rouege and junior Chenique Baxter.

Whitehouse, Lindale and Corsicana all had three first-team selections while Lufkin had the other spot on the squad.

Lady Lions senior Johnetta Preston and junior Shakendra Tilley both were named to the all-district second team while senior Aaliyah Waalee and junior Kandice Jackson earned honorable mention.

John Tyler also had seven players earn academic all district: senior Carneisha Daniels, senior Jaliah Evans, Jackson, Preston, junior Lajia Taylor, Tilley and Waalee.


2014 District 16-5A Volleyball Team

MVP — Rhyan Rand, Jr., Lindale

Hitter— Ashton Ates, Sr., Whitehouse

Defensive Player/Libero — Amanda Dimon, Sr., Whitehouse

Blocker — Travicia Acy, Sr., Lindale

Newcomer — Calie Bwicheilug, So., Corsicana

Setter — Ronnie Fountain, Sr., Whitehouse

Coach of the Year— Britney Nordin, Whitehouse


First Team

Beth Hood, Jr., Whitehouse

Megan Harris, Sr., Whitehouse

Kelly Keller, Sr., Whitehouse

Donisha Rouege, Sr., John Tyler

Chenique Baxter, Jr., John Tyler

Miyah Gibson, Jr., Lufkin

Kamryn Pilkinton, Jr., Lindale

Mckenna Cox, Jr., Lindale

Rajel Flores, So., Lindale

Caroline Blitz, So., Corsicana

Carly Cates, Jr., Corsicana

Teleia Braziel, Jr., Corsicana


Second Team

Haley Galloway, Jr., Whitehouse; Brittany Taylor, Jr., Whitehouse; Brittany Birdsong, So., Lindale; Heather McLaughlin, Jr., Lindale; Emily Jentz, Sr., Lufkin; Stephanie Willingham, Jr., Corsicana; Johnetta Preston, Sr., John Tyler; Shakendra Tilley, Jr., John Tyler; Hailey Layton, So., Nacogdoches; Emily Ash, So., Nacogdoches; Janzen Terry, Sr., Jacksonville; Shay Mosley, So., Jacksonville.


Honorable Mention

Delaney Melrose, Sr., Whitehouse; Elizabeth McLaughlin, Sr., Lindale; Ryleigh Rand, Fr., Lindale; Kara Schlenk, Jr., Corsicana; Macee Curry, So., Corsicana; Josey Saipongi, Sr., Corsicana; Mychellette Andrews, Jr., Corsicana; Nikki Gesford, Sr., Lufkin; Lindsey Smith, Jr., Lufkin; Aaliyah Waalee, Sr., John Tyler; Kandice Jackson, Jr., John Tyler; Emma Bond, Jr., Nacogdoches; McKenna Ethington, Jr., Nacogdoches; Tara Smith, Sr., Nacogdoches; Tanna Ivey, Jr., Jacksonville; Susan Mobley, Jr., Jacksonville; Sophia Clayter, So., Jacksonville.


Academic All-District

Jacksonville — Abbie Hicks, Sr.; Janzen Terry, Sr.; Nacogdoches — Madison Anderson, So.; Emma Bond, Jr.; Hailey Layton, So.; Tara Smith, Sr., Emily Ash, So., Kelley Bridges, Jr.; Caitlin Luna, Jr.; Lufkin— Amber Griffith, Jr.; Kendall Burran, So., Lufkin; Endya Harrell, Jr., Lufkin; Emily Jentz, Sr.; Lindsey Smith, Jr.; Nikki Gesford, Sr.; Lindale— Ryleigh Rand, Fr.; Brittany Birdsong, So.; Rajel Flores, So.; Baleigh Thurman, So.; Mckenna Cox, Jr.; Heather McLaughlin, Jr.; Rhyan Rand, Jr.; Kinsey Arnold, Sr.; Elizabeth McLaughlin, Sr.; Kamryn Pilkinton, Jr.; Whitehouse— Amanda Dimon, Sr.; Ronnie Fountain, Sr.; Megan Harris, Sr.; Kelly Keller, Sr.; Delaney Melrose, Sr.; Haley Galloway, Jr.; Beth Hood, Jr.; Brooke Lindsey, Jr.; Brittany Taylor, Jr.; Corsicana— Caroline Blitz, So.; Calie Bwicheilug, So.; Macee Curry, So.; Mychellette Andrews, Jr.; Teleia Braziel, Jr.; Kara Schlenk, Sr.; Stephanie Willingham, Jr.; John Tyler — Carneisha Daniels, Sr.; Jaliah Evans, Sr.; Kandice Jackson, Jr.; Johnetta Preston, Sr.; Lajia Taylor, Jr.; Shakendra Tilley, Jr.; Aaliyah Waalee, Sr.

Recommended for you