The team that played one of the most famous high school football games in history and concluded the year with the third state championship in Tyler ISD grid history will be honored Friday night in the Rose City.

The John Tyler 1994 state championship team will be recognized on the 25th anniversary of that magical season prior to the Lions’ game with West Mesquite.

A reception will be held for the team at the indoor batting cage between Christus Trinity Mother Frances Rose Stadium and Mike Carter Field, and at 6:40 p.m., they will be on the sideline of Earl Campbell Field to form a spirit line for the 2019 version of the Lions.

Kickoff for the District 7-5A Division I game between the Lions (2-4, 2-0) and the Wranglers (1-4, 1-0) is scheduled for 7 p.m.

At halftime the 1994 team is scheduled to assemble in the north end zone. A video will be shown and the team will be recognized before the second-half kickoff.

Players and coaches who have confirmed they will be in attendance include: Chris Reyes, Jesse Taylor, Miguel Morales, Taafe Hines, Morris Anderson, Marcus Cain, Andre Williams, Jerrid Beal, Kedrick Jackson, Keith Buckner, Kendrick Austin, Raylon Horn, Nigel Love, Darwin Brown, Michael Price, Karanja Lewis Brandon Dillard, David Warren, Nico Hernandez, Clint Neely, Coach Allen Wilson, Coach David Clapp and Harold Wright.

The 1994 team’s wild 48-44 victory over Plano East, which won an ESPY, was one of the many highlights of their 16-0 season under coach Allen Wilson.

JT defeated Austin Westlake, 35-24, in the state championship game at the Astrodome in Houston.


John Tyler standout Kitan Crawford will be presented his jersey for the 2020 Under Armour All-America High School Football Game during a pep rally at 8:15 a.m. Friday at the JT gymnasium.

Crawford is one of more than 100 players selected to compete in the 13th annual Under Armour All-America Game, a nationally televised competition spotlighting the country’s top high school seniors. The 2020 Under Armour All-America Game is slated for Thursday, Jan. 2 at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida, and will be televised live on ESPN2 at 5 p.m. CT.

Over its 12-year history, the Under Armour All-America Game has produced many of football’s best collegiate and professional players. NFL Pro Bowlers like Julio Jones and A.J. Green competed in the inaugural game, while No. 1 overall NFL Draft selections like Jadeveon Clowney (2011), Jameis Winston (2012), Myles Garrett (2014) and Kyler Murray (2019) are among the players that participated in later years.

Nearly 200 alumni of the Under Armour All-America Game have been selected in the NFL Draft, including 56 first-round draft picks and 23 NFL Pro Bowlers.

Crawford plays running back and cornerback for the Lions. He is committed to Texas where Crawford is slated to play defensive back.



Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments