Grace Community senior pitcher Canaan Klaassen, who helped lead the Cougars to their first district title, was named the TAPPS 2-4A Most Valuable Player.

All Saints senior catcher Chandler Hammond was named the Defensive Player of the Year while teammate Parker Towns, a sophomore pitcher/third baseman, earned Newcomer of the Year honors.

Klaassen was joined by eight teammates on the TAPPS 2-4A all-district team, including fellow first teamers Jacob Spitzer (senior outfielder) and Blake White (senior shortstop).

A LeTourneau signee, Klaassen was the Grace ace, with a 2.65 ERA and a 0.939 WHIP. The Cougars went 21-5 and were within a few outs of reaching the state tournament.

Hammond batted .400 for the Trojans, reaching double digits in doubles and leading the team in RBIs with more than 30. Senior pitcher/outfielder Garrett Buatte joined Hammond on the first team from All Saints.

Bishop Gorman senior Asher Boudreaux earned second-team honors.

Grace placed three players on the second team: Jacob Wadle (Sr. 1B/P), Jonny Spitzer (So. OF) and Austin Patrick (Jr. IF).

William Young (Sr. P/SS), Michael Caruso (So. SS/2B), Trey Rowe (So. 1B/DH) and Towns were second teamers for the Trojans. All Saints’ Coleton Oldham earned honorable mention.

Dylan Sumpter, Call Florence and Chandler Nutt earned honorable mention for the Cougars.

Gorman’s Adam Riegel and Joshua Riegel were also named to the honorable mention list.


TAPPS 2-4A All-District Baseball Team

Most Valuable Player — Canaan Klaassen, Sr. P, Grace Community

Defensive Player of the Year — Chandler Hammond, Sr. C, All Saints

Newcomer of the Year — Parker Towns, So. P/3B, All Saints

First Team

Canaan Klaassen, Sr. P, Grace

Bradley Glasscock, Sr. IF, Dallas Christian

Chandler Hammond, Sr. C, All Saints

Jacobey Tipton, Sr. P/IF, Dallas Christian

Luke Hoyl, Sr. C, Dallas Parish Episcopal

Jacob Spitzer, Sr. OF, Grace

Blake White, Sr. SS, Grace

Garrett Buatte, Sr. P/OF, All Saints

Justin Robison, Jr. C, Dallas Christian

Adam Jimenez, Sr. SS, Waco Reicher

Blake Ransom, Sr. IF, Parish Episcopal

Andrew DeTullio, Jr., Dallas Shelton

Alec Colvin, Sr. IF, Dallas Christian

Tanner Luehrs, Sr. C, Carrollton Prince of Peace

Second Team

Asher Boudreaux, Sr., Bishop Gorman; Jacob Wadle, Sr. 1B/P, Grace; Payne Sullins, Jr. CF, Reicher; Anthony Escobar, Sr. SS, Parish Episcopal; William Young, Sr. P/SS, All Saints; Jonny Spitzer, So. OF, Grace; Jake Simpson, Jr. C/IF, Dallas Christian; Austin Patrick, Jr. IF, Grace; Michael Caruso, So. SS/2B, All Saints; Chad Pruitt, Sr. P/OF, Dallas Christian; Dalton Smith, Sr. P/IF, Dallas Christian; Jackson Fletcher, Jr. C, Parish Episcopal; Trey Rowe, So. 1B/DH, All Saints; Parker Towns, So. P/3B, All Saints; Nathan Patton, Fr., Shelton.

Honorable Mention

Trinity Christian-Cedar Hill — Garrick Williams, Sr. SS/P; Waco Reicher — Travis Tanner, Sr. P; Connor Armstrong, Sr. P, Jack Aydelotte, So. 2B; Carrollton Prince of Peace — Nicholas Miller, Sr. P; Ryan Evans, Sr.; Andrew Day, Jr.; Dallas Christian — Dalton Brewer, Sr. CF; Ivan Garcia, Jr. P; All Saints — Coleton Oldham, So. P/OF; Dallas Parish Episcopal — Daniel Kirby, Sr. C; Grace Community — Dylan Sumpter, So. IF; Call Florence, So. C; Chandler Nutt; Bishop Gorman — Adam Riegel, Sr.; Joshua Riegel, So.

Recommended for you