Before the Bullard Brook Hill baseball team dominated TAPPS 3A in the state tournament to repeat as champions, the Guard dominated TAPPS 4-3A.

Thus it was no surprise that Brook Hill had 12 of the 15 first-teamers on the all-district squad and swept the superlatives.

Guard shortstop JB Moss was named Most Valuable Player, left-handed pitcher A.J. Minter earned Defensive Player of the Year, second baseball Travis Pirtle was tabbed as Offensive Player of the Year and Terry Pirtle was voted Coach of the Year.

Moss had a .585 on-base percentage batting leadoff for Brook Hill and scored more than 70 percent of the time he came to the plate.

Minter struck out 119 with 19 walks in 59 2-3 innings while batting .452. Moss and Minter, both Texas A&M signees, led the team with five home runs.

Travis Pirtle led the team in RBIs while batting over .500. His dad, Terry, led the Guard to a 28-3 record and back-to-back state titles.


2012 TAPPS 4-3A All-District Baseball Team

Most Valuable Player — JB Moss, Sr. SS, Bullard Brook Hill

Defensive Player of the Year — A.J. Minter, Sr. LHP, Brook Hill

Offensive Player of the Year — Travis Pirtle, Sr. 2B, Brook Hill

Coach of the Year — Terry Pirtle, Brook Hill

First Team

JB Moss, Sr. SS, Brook Hill

A.J. Minter, Sr. P, Brook Hill

Travis Pirtle, Sr. 2B, Brook Hill

Kendall Kerns, Jr. C, Brook Hill

Drew Robertson, Jr. P, Brook Hill

Jack Sommerfield, Jr. C, Dallas Lutheran

Russell Ford, Sr. OF, Dallas Shelton

Michael Greening, Jr. OF, Brook Hill

Garrett Moore, Jr. OF, Brook Hill

Andrew DeTullio, So. INF, Shelton

Quintin Pile, Jr. P, Brook Hill

Collin Mondrik, Jr. OF, Brook Hill

Hunter George, Sr. P, Brook Hill

Dylan Horinek, Sr. OF, Brook Hill

Jonah Gonzales, So. INF, Brook Hill

Second Team

Leland Moorehead, Sr. OF, Richardson Canyon Creek; Jonathon Barnes, Jr. P, Shelton; Brandon Douglas, Fr. INF, Shelton; Chris Hunley, Jr. INF/P, Dallas Lutheran; David Brock, Jr. 3B, McKinney Christian; Mitchell Dours, So. C, Shelton; David Collum, Sr. SS, McKinney Christian; Nate Jones, So. INF/P, Shelton; Robert Kelley, Jr. OF, McKinney Christian; Geoff Adams, Sr. INF/P, Dallas Lutheran; Allen Levy, Sr. OF, Shelton; Andrew Johnson, Fr. P, Shelton; Nick Weldman, Fr. OF, McKinney Christian; Zack Glover, Jr. 2B, Canyon Creek; Brian Shrul, So. P, Canyon Creek

Honorable Mention

McKinney Christian — Zach Bollinger, So. P; Will Jacob, Fr. 2B. Brook Hill — Blake Maddox, Fr. C. Canyon Creek — Jacob Tolbert, Fr. C; Alex Gay, Fr. 3B. Shelton — Riley Roberts, So. OF. Dallas Lutheran — Sam Mills, Sr. OF; Bryce Armstrong, Fr. OF.

Recommended for you

Load comments