After going undefeated in TAPPS 2-4A, All Saints was honored by the league with junior pitcher William Young named Most Valuable Player and junior catcher Chandler Hammond voted Defensive Player of the Year.

The Trojans, who were an inning away from reaching the state tournament, placed four players on the all-district first team, including Young, Hammond, sophomore outfielder Carter Skeen and senior shortstop John Norton.

All Saints will return its entire team next year except for Norton.

Grace Community senior catcher Micah Florey and junior outfielder Jacob Spitzer earned first-team honors as well. Bishop Gorman senior pitcher Cannon Woods, a future pitcher at Schreiner, was also named to the first team.

The Cougars had four second-team selections: Canaan Klaassen (junior pitcher), Austin Patrick (sophomore third baseman), Blake White (junior outfielder) and Jacob Wadle (junior first baseman).

Grant Bengston (junior first baseman) and Rock Caruso (freshman third baseman) earned second-team honors from All Saints.

Taylor Kemp (senior utility) was named to the second-team from the Crusaders, who had Tristan Saint and Asher Boudreaux tabbed as honorable mention.

Also on the honorable mention list from Grace were Dylan Sumpter, Adam Graham and Hayden Stanley while Trey Rowe made the list from All Saints.


2012 TAPPS 2-4A All-District Baseball Team

Most Valuable Player — William Young, Jr. P, All Saints

Defensive Player of the Year — Chandler Hammond, Jr. C, All Saints

First Team

William Young, Jr. P, All Saints

Bradley Glasscock, Jr. SS, Dallas Christian

Chandler Hammond, Jr. C, All Saints

Dalton Smith, Jr. P, Dallas Christian

Micah Florey, Sr. C, Grace Community

Blake Ransom, Jr. 1B, Dallas Parish Episcopal

Russell Bormann, Sr. SS, Dallas First Baptist

Cannon Woods, Sr. P/IF, Bishop Gorman

Jake Fletcher, So. C, Parish Episcopal

Andrew Byrd, Jr. UTL, First Baptist

Alec Colvin, Jr. IF, Dallas Christian

Carter Skeen, So. OF, All Saints

Jacob Spitzer, Jr. OF, Grace

John Norton, Sr. UTL, All Saints

Tucker Davison, Jr. OF, Parish Episcopal

Second Team

Dalton Brewer, Jr. OF, Dallas Christian

Canaan Klaassen, Jr. P, Grace

Anthony Escobar, Jr. SS, Parish Episcopal

Luke Hoyl, Jr. UTL, Parish Episcopal

Matt Lisenbe, Jr. C, First Baptist

Matt Ackley, Sr. 1B, First Baptist

Chad Pruitt, Jr. P, Dallas Christian

Jacobey Tipton, Jr. P, Dallas Christian

Derek Sharp, Sr. OF, Dallas Christian

Taylor Kemp, Sr. UTL, Gorman

Grant Bengston, Jr. 1B, All Saints

Rock Caruso, Fr. 3B, All Saints

Austin Patrick, So. 3B, Grace

Blake White, Jr. OF, Grace

Jacob Wadle, Jr. 1B, Grace

Honorable Mention

Waco Reicher — Adam Jimenez, Jr. OF. Parish Episcopal — Matt Johnsrud, So. UTL; Quinton Oliver, Jr. P; Reed Carroll, Sr. P. First Baptist — Micah Hays, So. OF; Ben Ackley, Jr. OF. Dallas Christian — Justin Robison, So. C; Will Morgan, Jr. OF; Travis Vrba, Sr. 1B. Gorman — Tristan Saint, So. C; Asher Boudreaux, Jr. UTL. All Saints — Trey Rowe, Fr. P/OF. Grace — Dylan Sumpter, Fr. 2B; Adam Graham, Fr. OF; Hayden Stanley, Sr. SS.

Recommended for you

Load comments