LUBBOCK — Texas College gave head coach Freddy Rodriguez his 100th career win with a 12-11 victory over No. 16 Lubbock Christian in the first game of an NAIA baseball doubleheader Friday.

The Steers split the doubleheader after losing 4-0 in the second game.

TC led 12-5 in the first game before holding off a late charge from Lubbock Christian. 

Each team had 15 hits in the first game, with Texas College only producing one extra-base hit. Five TC players had multiple hits, with Juan Carillo going 4 for 4 and Jose Serna going 3 for 5. Aldo Montoya earned his first win of the season for TC, as he went 4 1-3 innings while allowing four runs.

In the second game, Derek Loera pitched a complete-game, two-hit shutout for Lubbock Christian. Loera struck out 10 batters and only faced one batter over the minimum. He had a perfect game for 3 1-3 innings and a no-hitter for four innings.

Dennis Neal kept the Steers within reach on the mound. He pitched all six innings for TC and allowed four runs off seven hits and he struck out five batters.

LCU moved to 5-1 on the season and TC went to 2-8 on the season with the split. The Chaps are now 7-1 all-time against the Steers and the meetings marked their first since 2006. The series continues Saturday with a doubleheader beginning at 1 p.m. at Hays Field.


Game 1

Texas College 12, Lubbock Christian 11

Texas College  307 001 1 — 12 15 2

Lubbock Christian 202 100 6 — 11 15 1 

Aldo Montoya, Houston Creighton (5), Andrew Hungerford (7), Jesse Garza and Jose Serna; Jarret Porter, Logan Burch (3), Dalton Silva (6) and Jason Fisch.  W – Montoya (1-2); L – Porter (0-1). S – Garza (1).

2B – TC: Serna; LC: Rainey. HR – LC: Joel Lutz, Brennyn Smith, Fisch. SH – TC: Corey Heidebrecht. SF – TC: Matt McEuen. SB – TC: Cody Stifle; D.J. Fisher; Agustin Enriquez; Rodrigo Anguiano; LC: Tanner Rainey; CS – LC: Kamron Bownds.

Game 2

Lubbock Christian 4, Texas College 0

Texas College       000 000 0 —  0 2 1

Lubbock Christian 100 102 X —  4 7 0 

Dennis Neal and Jose Serna; Derek Loera and Wigberto Nevarez . W – Loera (2-0); L – Neal (0-2). 2B – TC: Serna; LC: Nevarez. HR – LC: Brennyn Smith. SB – LC: Brett Kauten. CS – TC: Nathaniel Mason.

Recommended for you