The triple threat extended off the hardwood on the All-District 16-4A boys' basketball team.

Jacksonville's Dadrian Franklin, John Tyler's Tyus Bowser and Whitehouse's Patrick Mahomes shared the district's top distinction for Most Valuable Player.

Franklin fueled Jacksonville's 33-win season, stamped with a district championship. The senior forward, who has signed with Arkansas Tech to play football, factored big on both ends of the floor — from averaging double digits scoring to rebounding, blocking shots and taking charges.

Bowser, one of the area's top all-around athletes, led JT in scoring (18.8 ppg.), rebounding (8.8) and blocked shots as the Lions placed second in district play. Bowser, a Houston signee recently selected the Texas Sports Writers Co-Defensive Player of the Year in football, helped the Lions hand Jacksonville its lone district loss on the basketball court.

Mahomes, a three-sport star with one year remaining, averaged 19.9 points, 6.7 rebounds and 4.0 steals per game as Whitehouse placed third in district.

Jacksonville's Brent Kelley, the architect behind the Indians' 33-1 season, earned Coach of the Year honors. Jacksonville started the season 32-0 before losing two of its final three.

JT junior sparkplug Jordan Caldwell and Jacksonville junior sharpshooter Raybon Riden split Offensive MVP honors for their respective teams, both of which advanced to the area round of the playoffs.

The Defensive MVP accolade went to Jacksonville senior Kedarrius Buckingham, a 6-3 force inside who helped the Tribe limit opponents below 45 points per game.

JT sophomore Isaac Warren won Newcomer of the Year honors after averaging 10 points and two steals per game for the Lions, who won their final seven district games.

The first team featured six unanimous selections, led by Jacksonville's duo of Londedric Taylor and Daytron Thompson, JT's Greg Ward, Corsicana's Mike Lewis, Nacogdoches' Austin Willeford and Whitehouse's Jaylon Dews.

The remainder of the first team consisted of JT's Darion Flowers, Lindale's Mason Terry and Whitehouse's Spencer Shaw.

The second team included JT's Keaunte Humber and Fred Ross, Corsicana's Dzifa Mallett and Earnest McGhee, Lindale's Kolton Pierce and Court Brown, Nacogdoches' Jeron Garrett and Whitehouse's Jake Parker.

Six JT players merited honorable mention: Rodney Bendy, Elliott Hart, Hennessey Lampkin, Vernon Thomas, Ja'Vonte Tramble and William Vaughn.

All-District 16-4A Boys Basketball Team

Tri-Most Valuable Players — Tyus Bowser, John Tyler, Sr., Dadrian Franklin, Jacksonville, Sr.; Pat Mahomes, Whitehouse, Jr.

Co-Offensive MVPs — Raybon Riden, Jacksonville, Jr.; Jordan Caldwell, John Tyler, Jr.

Defensive MVP — Kedarrius Buckingham, Jacksonville, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year — Isaac Warren, John Tyler, So.

Coach of the Year — Brent Kelley, Jacksonville

First Team

Mike Lewis (U), Corsicana, Jr.

Daytron Thompson (U), Jacksonville, Jr.

Londedrick Taylor (U), Jacksonville, Sr.

Greg Ward (U), John Tyler, Sr.

Austin Willeford (U), Nacogdoches

Jaylon Dews (U), Whitehouse, Jr.

Spencer Shaw, Whitehouse, Jr.

Darion Flowers, John Tyler, Sr.

Mason Terry, Lindale, Jr.

Second Team

Fred Ross, John Tyler, Sr.

Dzifa Mallet, Corsicana, Sr.

Earnest McGhee, Corsicana, Sr.

Keaunte Humber, John Tyler, Jr.

Kolton Pierce, Lindale, So.

Court Brown, Lindale, So.

Jerron Garrett, Nacogdoches, Sr.

Jake Parker, Whitehouse, Jr.

(U) — Unanimous selection

Recommended for you

Load comments