Staff reports


Tyler Junior College was one of four public, two-year institutions nationwide to be recognized for overall performance in education fundraising by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).

CASE named 68 colleges and universities and 18 independent schools as recipients of its 2013 Educational Fundraising Awards, according to a news release from the college. The award recognizes institutions for overall performance and improvement in educational fund raising programs.

"We are honored that Tyler Junior College was selected for this award," Dr. Kim Russell, TJC vice president for advancement and external affairs, said in the release. Russell also serves as executive director of the TJC Foundation. "Our success is due to the TJC Foundation board of directors and, specifically, our dedicated investment committee. We thank TJC President Dr. Mike Metke for his outstanding leadership of the college and support of the foundation."

Selection was based on data submitted to the Council for Aid to Education's annual Voluntary Support of Education survey, the release states.

Institutions are evaluated within appropriate peer groups by volunteer judges. When reviewing data profiles, the judging panel does not know the name of the institution tied to the data.

Winning institutions will be recognized in the awards gallery at the July 2013 Summit for Leaders in Advancement in San Francisco.

Other institutions awarded in TJC's category were: Community College of Allegheny in Pennsylvania, Northern Wyoming Community College District in Wyoming and SUNY Westchester Community College in New York.

The Tyler Junior College Foundation is a separate, 501(c)(3) organization governed by a 35-member, self-perpetuating board of directors. Institutionally related foundations play a vital role in raising and managing private resources in support of public institutions such as Tyler Junior College, the release states.

The foundation facilitates gift transactions, provides management and oversight of investments, and ensures that gifted funds are used in compliance with donor intent and maintained separately from public funds.

Members of the TJC Foundation investment committee are: Billy Hibbs, chairman; James I. Perkins; Lee Gibson; Eleanor Stringer; and David McCullough.




Recent Stories You Might Have Missed