Lindale ISD board

(L-R) Matt Watts, Gary Camp, Robert McGee, Kelly Cox, MIke Combs, Donny Williams, Kenneth Cline

Lindale ISD Board of Trustees has been named the 2018 Regional School Board of the Year by the Region 7 Education Service Center.

The LISD Board of Trustees will serve as the regional representative in this year’s Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards Program, according to a news release from the district.

Lindale ISD Superintendent Stan Surratt nominated the board for the award.

"(They have) led the district to greatness at every level, that is unmatched by most districts across the state of Texas,” Surratt said.

In the last several years, LISD trustees have established or revised more than 200 policies. These policies are not intended to allow the board to micromanage district affairs; rather, they hold the entire district, including teachers and administrators, to higher standards. Policies adopted or revised in the last several years include Safety Programs/Risk Management, Employee Welfare, Funds Management and numerous others.

In 2016, the Board approved a plan to initiate its own police force by adding two police officers.

“There is nothing more important than keeping our students, teachers, staff members and school visitors safe during the school day,” said LISD School Board President Kelly Cox.

This initiative will allow for more coverage each day to the six campuses in the district.

In November 2017, Lindale ISD was recognized as a financially responsible district by the Texas Education Agency’s “Superior Achievement” rating. Surratt named the effort of staff members, who are conscious of the district’s taxpayers regarding LISD expenses.

“Our LISD Board of Trustees deserve a great deal of credit for their fiscal management,” said Surratt. 

Other recent accomplishments include lowering the property tax rate for district homeowners, increasing the teacher pay scale to remain competitive among other districts, and implementing “the Lindale TJC Promise”, a program that allows high school students to earn scholarships based on student performance that can ultimately pay for two years of tuition and fees at Tyler Junior College. 

TASA will announce the five Texas Honor School Boards on August 10, 2018.

School boards nominated to represent their regions are in the running to be named one of five Texas Honor Boards, one of which is chosen as Texas' Outstanding School Board. All regional nominees and honor boards are recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention, which takes place each fall.

Cory is a multimedia journalist and member of the Education Writers Association, Criminal Justice Journalists and Investigative Reporters and Editors. He has appeared on Crime Watch Daily and Grave Mysteries on Investigation Discovery.

Recommended for you