KYTX CBS19 was recognized with three Emmy nominations, announced Friday.

CBS19 is the only TV station in East Texas to be nominated for a 2013 Emmy by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) Lone Star Chapter.

According to the Lone Star Emmy website — as part of the NATAS — the Texas Chapter is the standard-bearer for excellence in the television broadcasting industry and the gatekeepers of the regional Emmy Awards in Texas.

Lone Star Emmy represents the most experienced and talented television professionals from all disciplines of the industry and from all of Texas' 19 television markets.

KYTX CBS19 News at 6 and KYTX CBS19 Ten @ 10 both received a 2013 Emmy nomination. Both evening newscasts, anchored by Gillian Sheridan and Justin Earley, were recognized for their extensive and comprehensive coverage of the West Fertilizer Plant explosion. The 6 p.m. news was produced by Brooke Ranshaw and the 10 p.m. news was produced by Libby Shaw.

KYTX CBS19 also received an Emmy nomination for its series of reports called JB's Journal, featuring former Smith County Sheriff J.B. Smith. The reports focus on Texas heritage and culture, spotlighting the unique people and places around East Texas. These reports are assembled by photographer/editor Scott Berkley and produced by Rebecca Berkley. This series was awarded a 2012 Lone Star Emmy. The 6 report airs on KYTX CBS19 news.

The 2013 winners will be announced at the 11th annual Lone Star Emmy Ceremony on Nov. 9 in San Antonio.



Recent Stories You Might Have Missed