UT Tyler is officially a member of the Lone Star Conference.

The Patriots are one of eight institutions joining the league as of July 1. The LSC becomes the largest conference in NCAA Division II.

The UT System Board of Regents approved the move Aug. 10, 2018.

UT Tyler was accepted into the NCAA Division II membership process on July 13, 2018. The Patriots will compete in the LSC for all sports beginning in the fall of 2019 and would become a full member of Division II in fall 2021 after fulfilling several requirements over a three-year period that began in 2018.

Along with The University of Texas at Tyler, which was been competing in the NCAA Division III and the American Southwest Conference, other new members include (with nickname, location): Dallas Baptist University Patriots (Dallas), Lubbock Christian University Chaparrals and Lady Chaps (Lubbock), Oklahoma Christian University Eagles and Lady Eagles (Oklahoma City), St. Edward’s University Hilltoppers (Austin), St. Mary’s University Rattlers (San Antonio), Texas A&M International University Dustdevils (Laredo) and University of Arkansas-Fort Smith Lions (Fort Smith).

The LSC, founded on April 25, 1931, started as a five-member conference of Texas-based schools and with the latest expansion will become a 19-member league with 14 members in Texas, two in Oklahoma, two in New Mexico, and one in Arkansas.

“This is a historic day for the Lone Star Conference as we welcome eight new members and become the largest and most dynamic conference in NCAA Division II,” LSC Commissioner Jay Poerner said. “Individually and collectively, our 19 member institutions embody the very best in Division II with a shared commitment to community, academics and athletics excellence.”

Other members include Angelo State University Rams and Rambelles (San Angelo), Cameron University Aggies (Lawton, Oklahoma), Eastern New Mexico University Greyhounds (Portales), Midwestern State University Mustangs (Wichita Falls), Tarleton State University Texans and TexAnns (Stephenville), Texas A&M University-Commerce Lions (Commerce), Texas A&M University-Kingsville Javelinas (Kingsville), Texas Woman’s University Pioneers (Denton), The University of Texas Permian Basin Falcons (Odessa), West Texas A&M University Buffaloes (Canyon) and Western New Mexico University Mustangs (Silver City).

The LSC will conduct conference championships in 18 sports (nine men and nine women).

Men’s championships include football, cross country, soccer, basketball, baseball, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, golf and tennis.

Women’s championships include in volleyball, soccer, cross country, basketball, softball, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, tennis and golf.

UT Tyler sponsors intercollegiate teams in 17 sports: baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track and field, men’s and women’s indoor track and field and volleyball.

The Patriots have won NCAA Division III national championships in men’s golf (2013), softball (2016) and baseball (2018).


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments