Whitehouse's Hayden fourth at 4A state cross country meet


ROUND ROCK — Whitehouse senior Troy Hayden ran to a fourth-place finish at the Class 4A State Cross Country Meet on Saturday at Old Settlers Park.

Hawkins’ Hunter Fair also had a top 10 finish in Class 2A.

Hayden had a clocking of 16 minutes and 16 seconds. Ryan Teel of Friendswood won with a time of 15:42.42, while Robert Uhr of Lockhart was runner-up at 15:44.67. Taking third just ahead of Hayden was Ivan Rodriguez of El Paso Del Valle.

Boerne Champion won the team title with 55 points, followed by Cedar Park (also 55) and Friendswood (108).

In Class 2A boys, Eustace placed third with 101 points. Luling won with 47, while Salado was second at 69.

Quinlin McGregor of Amarillo Highland Park topped the field at 16:04.42. Eustace’s Evan Arambula was third at 16:23.76.

Fair was seventh at 16:34.43.

Joining Arambula on the Eustace team were Mark Zimmerer, Hunter Rose, Jason Ballenger, Preston Schwartz, Gavin Kirkhart and Brandon Richardson.

Grand Saline’s Trent Phillips placed 13th with a 16:47.93 and Hawkins’ Justin Davenport was 24th (17:23.31). Phillips’ teammate Matt Moreno was No. 34 with a time of 17:45.60.

In Class 2A girls, Bushland won with 70 points with Comanche (97) and Paradise (111) right behind. Elkhart was 12th at 272.

Annie Dunlap of Crawford won with a clocking of 11:36.12.

Arp’s Bri Gordon placed 57th with a time of 13:32.43.

Elkhart team members include Anna Clark, Kayla Johnson, Joli Ballew, Harley Brim, Paige Huff, Meagan Davis and Madye Hays.

In 4A girls, Highland Park won with 63 points, followed by Cedar Park (88) and Canyon (103). Madie Boerman of Leander Rouse was the top individual at 17:53.04.

In Class 5A, Southlake Carroll won both the boys and girls titles. In the boys, SLC had 27 points. The Woodlands was second at 71, while The Woodlands College Park was third at 95. Robert Domanic of Lewisville Hebron topped the field at 15:04.2.

In the girls, SLC had 32 points, followed by Humble Kingwood (95) and Lewisville Marcus (105). Karis Jochen of A&M Consolidated won the individual race at 17:53.04.

In Class 3A boys, Decatur won with 56 points, while Lytle (77) and Alvarado (93) were second and third, respectively. Cesar Gonzalez of Lytle won with a clocking of 16:01.35.

Sanger won the 3A girls with 63 points, followed by La Vernia (64) and Decatur (91). Miranda Prado of Lorena won 12:04.90.

Hamlin won the Class 1A girls with 66 points, followed by Harper (69) and Gruver (76). Cushing was 11th with 300 points.

Quanah’s Olivia Jalomo won the 1A race with a time of 11:54.52. Neches’ Haley Harroff was 63rd (13:54.07).

Members of the Cushing team were Margaret Carpenter, April Myers, Morgan Myers, Jessica Rowell, Kyndal Branton, Sammi Jo Brashears and Kajal Patel.

In Class 1A boys, Forsan won with 68 points, followed by Port Aransas (75) and Valley View (113). Dallas Rushing of Axtell won the race with a time of 16:40.14.

Cayuga’s Matthew McNeill was 49th with a time of 18:41.45.