After an outstanding regular season it was only natural the UT Tyler Patriots would garner many honors on the All-American Southwest Conference women’s basketball team.

Brittany King was named to not only the first-team, but also made the All-Defensive squad. Michelle Obach made a big splash in her first year and was voted Newcomer of the Year. Teylor Seals was named to the third team.

Third-year Patriots coach Kevin Baker was named ASC Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season.

The Patriots also received their second straight bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament. UT Tyler will take on Southwestern University of Georgetown at 5 p.m. Friday at the UTD Activity Center on The University of Texas at Dallas campus in Richardson. The other semifinal has UT Dallas taking on Rhodes College of Memphis, Tennessee at 7:30 p.m.

The semifinal winners advance to the regional final at 5 p.m. Saturday.

King, a senior forward from Mesquite, finished third in the conference in scoring (17.1 ppg) and third in rebounding with 9.2 boards per game. She was a standout on defense, finishing with 21 blocked shots and 37 steals. King was a transfer from Cisco College.

Obach, who hails from Tyler, was also on the third team. The sophomore guard averaged 10.5 points, had 66 steals and finished the year with 113 assists. The Bishop Gorman graduate also set a new game-scoring mark this season with 36 points against Sul Ross State on Jan. 5.

Seals, a senior guard from Houston, averaged 10.7 points per contest while totaling 43 steals and 75 assists.

Baker lead the Patriots to an impressive 19-1 ASC record and a 26-2 overall mark.

Howard Payne’s Danyel Bradley, a junior guard from DeSoto, was named the ASC Player of the Year award after leading NCAA Division III in scoring at 22.3.

Howard Payne senior center Kalin Hanna from Flower Mound was named Defensive Player of the Year and Sul Ross State guard Desare Allen from Midland received Freshman of the Year honors, while Ozarks senior guard Jordana Andrews took home Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year.

Joining King and Bradley on the first team were UT Dallas senior guard Madi Hess (Austin), Louisiana College senior center Danisha Allison (Oakdale, Louisiana) and Mary Hardin-Baylor senior forward Taylor Tucker (College Station).

Grand Saline senior guard Amanda Rucker, who plays for East Texas Baptist, was voted to the second team.



Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.