Tyler Junior College quarterback Sederian Copeland, who led one of the top offensive units in the nation, was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player of the Southwest Junior College Football Conference, the league's coaches announced.

Kilgore College defensive lineman Dequinton Osborne, who was instrumental in the Rangers' late surge to the SWJCFC championship, was tabbed the Defensive MVP.

Trinity Valley Community College quarterback Jerod Evans, who led the Cardinals to the regional season title, was selected Conference MVP.

Those three along with 16 other players earned All-Region XIV honors. The list included four additional TJC players - offensive lineman Craig Smith, linebacker Somari Wright and defensive lineman Joshua Wheeler.

Other all-region players were: Cisco College defensive back Deanthony Lee, TVCC wide receiver Derrick Willies, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M defensive back Terrell Williams, Cisco wide receiver Marcus Daggs, TVCC tight end Nick Jones, Navarro College center Brandon Niccum, Navarro offensive lineman Donnavon Wheaton, Blinn defensive lineman Tralund Webber, Navarro linebacker J.B. Copeland, Kilgore defensive back Jerrell Sykes, TVCC offensive lineman TJ Henson, TVCC return specialist Andre Wilson and Navarro offensive lineman Cody Hayes.

Earning all-conference first team for TJC were wide receiver Ryan Parker, offensive lineman Smith, center John Aguilar, running back Ken Burks, defensive lineman Wheeler and linebacker Wright.


All-Southwest Junior College Football Conference Team

Conference Most Valuable Player - QB Jerod Evans, Trinity Valley.

Offensive Most Valuable Player - QB Sederian Copeland, Tyler.

Defensive Most Valuable Player - DL Dequinton Osborne, Kilgore.



First Team

Tight End - Nick Jones, Trinity Valley.

Wide Receiver - Ryan Parker, Tyler; Derrick Willies, Trinity Valley; Marcus Daggs, Cisco.

Center - Brandon Niccum, Navarro; John Aguilar, Tyler.

Offensive linemen - Craig Smith, Tyler; Donnavon Wheaton, Navarro; Cody Hayes, Navarro; TJ Henson, Trinity Valley.

Quarterback - Jerod Evans, Trinity Valley.

Running back - Ken Burks, Tyler; Joshua Cleveland, Navarro.

All-Purpose backs - Marcus Anderson, Navarro.

Placekicker - Patrick O'Brien, Navarro.

Return Specialist - Andre Wilson, Trinity Valley.


Second Team

Tight End - Mikequan Deane, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Wide Receiver - Calvin Jones, Navarro; Del'Michael High, Navarro; Andre Wilson, Trinity Valley.

Center - Ty Watkins, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Offensive linemen - Connor Wood, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Justice Powers, Trinity Valley; Andreu Kirby, Tyler; Avery Jordan, Blinn.

Quarterback - Sederian Copeland, Tyler.

Running back - Cameron Booty, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Le'vonte Owens, Trinity Valley.

All-Purpose backs - Josh Herman, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Placekicker - Gabriel Rui, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Return Specialist - Devin Smith, Navarro; Chris Garner, Cisco; Michael Sams, Trinity Valley.


Honorable Mention

Tight End - Devon Richardson, Cisco; Buddy Tumasaga, Tyler; Jarod Wood, Kilgore.

Wide Receiver - Garrison Mitchell, Blinn; James Homan, Blinn; Dillon Birden, Blinn; Tyler Hogan, Cisco; Emmanuel Harris, Trinity Valley.

Center - Daniel Russell, Blinn; Ashmeed Ahamad, Kilgore; Rex Printz, Trinity Valley.

Offensive linemen - Abdul Jordan, Blinn; Josh Keith, Blinn; Ovi Hernandez, Blinn; Danny Moore, Navarro; Clay Burt, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Karson Green, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Matthew Bell, Kilgore; George Roberts, Trinity Valley; Christian Beard, Trinity Valley.

Quarterback - Richard Lagow, Cisco; Robert Mitchell, Blinn.

Running back - Kijanna Amous, Navarro; Jesse Gregory, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Placekicker - Caden Novikoff, Trinity Valley; Eric Piccione, Blinn.



First Team

Defensive Line - Dequinton Osborne, Kilgore; Tremaine Whittley, Navarro; Tralund Webber, Blinn; Joshua Wheeler, Tyler.

Linebacker - Somari Wright, Tyler; J.B. Copeland, Navarro; Eric Harrell, Kilgore; Chris Baccus, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Defensive Back - Terrell Williams, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Deanthony Lee, Cisco; Jerrell Sykes, Kilgore; Jamal Jones, Trinity Valley.

Punter - Ben McIntosh, Navarro.

Deep Snapper - Tony Cantu, Navarro; Nick Wildberger, Blinn.



Second Team

Defensive Line - LaDarrin Anthony, Kilgore; Ricci Simmons, Kilgore; Garret McBroom, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Jordan Bonner, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Desmond Branch, Trinity Valley.

Linebacker - Mar'Quaveon Jones, Trinity Valley; Jakorey Whitaker, Trinity Valley; Trent Soechting, Blinn; Dante Lovilotte, Kilgore.

Defensive Back - Aaron Foy, Navarro; Soloman McGinty, Tyler; J'Marcus Rhodes, Kilgore; Jhavonte Dean, Blinn.

Punter - Eric Piccione, Blinn; Cole Moos, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Troy Duran, Kilgore.

Deep Snapper - Lon Hampton, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.



Honorable Mention

Defensive Line - Da-Itekena Cheetham-West, Blinn; Zach Krolczyk, Blinn; Javier Edwards, Blinn; Michael Wright, Blinn; Hafoka Olie, Tyler; Damond Dean, Tyler; Novis Cullom, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Isaiah Johnson, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Brock Byford, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Demontrai Lewis, Kilgore; Jonathan Taylor, Trinity Valley; Jalen Scott, Trinity Valley; JT Williams, Trinity Valley; Greg Hardaway, Cisco; TK Richardson, Cisco.

Linebacker - Jake Blomstrom, Navarro; Jai Edwards, Blinn; Jaylon Bowden, Blinn; Chrishard Buhl, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Tyquae Russell, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Michael Knobloch, Cisco.

Defensive Back - Aaron Brown, Navarro; Ben Sutton, Blinn; Jake Anderson, Blinn; Nate Jones, Tyler; Deion Guignard, Tyler; Braylon Thorns, Navarro; Antonio Cole, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M; Jacorey Walker, Trinity Valley; J.D. Flowers, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M.

Punter - Andre Wilson, Trinity Valley.












Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments