ALBANY, Ga. — Tyler Junior College Apaches opened the NJCAA Division I Soccer Championship Tournament on Monday with a 2-0 win over the Marshalltown (Iowa) College.

The Apaches struck early with a goal — just 14 minutes into the game — from sophomore midfielder Joseph Pratt on an assist from Oneil Fisher.

Fisher, also a sophomore midfielder, returned to the goal just 15 minutes later to put one in the net on a cross shot from the right side.

Sophomore Junior Spinks earned the assist on that goal.

And that’s how the score would remain through the rest of the game despite spurts of aggressive offensive attempts from both teams.

TJC dominated most of the first half with its offensive spending most of the time at Marshalltown’s end of the field.

The Tiger offense didn’t wake up until after the Apaches’ second goal, forcing TJC on the defensive nearly until half time.

The second half proved to be a drawn out defensive game with the Tigers clamping down in an effort to keep the Apaches contained. The Tigers’ offensive created very few opportunities for scoring against the Apaches’ tough defense.

TJC ended the game with 11 shots on goal and nine corner kicks, while the Tigers failed to record a shot on goal and tallied five corner kicks.

Tyler’s Hector Lasso and Marshalltown’s Alex Galvan both earned yellow cards during second half play.

The Apaches have Tuesday off, but are scheduled to return to the pitch on Wednesday at 6:30 p.m. (CST) to play Jefferson (Mo.) College in Pool D.

Jefferson is scheduled to play Marshalltown on Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.

Men’s Division I

Monday’s Schedule

No. 4 Tyler 2, No. 9 Marshalltown (Iowa) 0

No. 2 Monroe (N.Y.) 3, No. 11 Oakton (Ill.) 0

No. 3 Louisburg (N.C.) 4,  No. 10 Northwest (Wyo.) 0

No. 1 Darton (Ga.) 3, No. 12 Western Wyoming 1

Tuesday’s Schedule

No. 6 Cincinnati State vs. No. 10 Northwest (Wyo.), noon

No. 7 Illinois Central vs. No. 11 Oakton (Ill.), 2:30 p.m.

No. 8 Western Texas vs. No. 12 Western Wyoming, 5 p.m.

No. 5 Jefferson (Mo.) vs. No. 9 Marshalltown (Iowa), 7:30 p.m.

Recommended for you