FORT WORTH — The Texas High School Coaches Association All-Star Football Game has had some of the brightest stars in the nation.

Some of the participates have been Tyler’s own Earl Campbell, Big Sandy’s Lovie Smith, Tom Landry, LaDainian Tomlinson, Bobby Taylor, Michael Crabtree, Mount Vernon’s Don Meredith, Kyle Rote, Eric Dickerson, Drew Brees and Thurman Thomas, just to name a few.

Some East Texans would like to follow in their footsteps as the 79th THSCA All-Star Game is scheduled for Tuesday at Amon Carter Stadium on the campus of Texas Christian University.

Kickoff is 7 p.m. It will be broadcast on FOX Sports Southwest Plus (Suddenlink Cable Channel 96 in Tyler). It will be rebroadcast at 11 p.m. on FOX Sports Southwest and 1 p.m. on Wednesday.

East Texans taking part include Whitehouse wide receiver Dylan Cantrell (Texas Tech), Daingerfield running back Edwin Mims (Navarro), Corsicana Mildred quarterback Nic Shimonek (Iowa), Gilmer offensive lineman Brady English (Stephen F. Austin), Hallsville offensive lineman Hayden Wall (Abilene Christian), Lufkin wide receiver Jabryce Taylor (SMU) and Longview defensive lineman Cornelius Williams (Texas A&M-Commerce).

They are all on the North team, which is coached by Stephenville’s Joseph Gillespie.

The South squad is coached by Eustace High School and UT Tyler graduate Hank Carter, the head coach at Lake Travis.

Trinity Valley Community College signees Luis Lopez of San Diego, running back Darius Floyd of Franklin, offensive guard Garrett Gunter of Smithson Valley and wide receiver Mark Roman of Ridge Point are on the South squad.

NOTES: The 81st annual Texas High School Coaches Association Convention continues through Wednesday. … On Wednesday, Tyler official Kyle Rutherford will receive the Curly Hays Officials Award, which honors football officials who have contributed significantly to the game of football. The Hall of Honor luncheon is scheduled for 1 p.m. in the Texas Ballroom of the Omni Fort Worth Hotel.


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed