From left, Nolan Ryan, Earl Campbell and Hakeem Olajuwon were honored as inductees into the Houston Sports Hall of Fame on Thursday.

HOUSTON — The first Houston Sports Awards were held in downtown Houston on Thursday night, in part to honor the great No. 34s in Houston Sports history, Hakeem Olajuwon, Nolan Ryan and Tyler’s own Earl Campbell.

The Harris County Houston Sports Authority also announced the creation of a Houston Sports Hall of Fame, with an inaugural class of Ryan, Olajuwon and Campbell, a 1974 graduate of John Tyler High School, 1977 Heisman Trophy winner at Texas and longtime Houston Oilers standout.

Other 2018 Houston Sports Award winners:

Athlete of the Year: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros

College Athlete of the Year: Ed Oliver, Houston Cougars

High School Athlete of the Year: Grant Gunnell, St. Pius X

Coach of the Year: A.J. Hinch, Houston Astros

Moment of the Year: Alex Bregman, Houston Astros (Game 5 walkoff single in World Series)

Fan of the Year: Carson Riley (caught Carlos Correa HR in ALCS)

Executive of the Year: Jeff Luhnow, Houston Astros

Lifetime Achievement Award: Leslie Alexander, Houston Rockets

Sportsmanship Award: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments