Dallas Cowboys' Ezekiel Elliott leads in NFL Pro Bowl voting, with Dak Prescott second

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott, right, hands the ball off to running back Ezekiel Elliott Thursday, Dec. 1, 2016, in Minneapolis. (AP Photo/Andy Clayton-King)

Cowboys rookie running back Ezekiel Elliott leads 2017 Pro Bowl voting, with 681,361. His rookie teammate, Dak Prescott, ranks second with 607,621 votes.

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (519,210), Steelers receiver Antonio Brown (508,913) and Raiders quarterback (500,770) round out the top five.

The Cowboys have three other players leading their positions: Tyron Smith leads offensive tackles with 252,590 votes; Travis Frederick leads centers with 249,976 votes; and Dan Bailey leads all kickers with 130,954 votes.

Sean Lee leads NFC outside linebackers with 166,579, and Chris Jones leads NFC punters with 70,331 votes.

The 2007 Cowboys set the modern-era record with 13 Pro Bowlers. Tony Romo and Jason Witten are the only remaining Pro Bowlers from that team.

Fan voting continues online until Dec. 13.

The Pro Bowl teams are determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third toward determining the 88 all starts selected to the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes Dec. 16.

The NFL will announce the Pro Bowl players selected Dec. 20 in a live primetime special on NFL Network.

The game will be played on Jan. 29, the Sunday before the Super Bowl, in Orlando, Fla. Players on the Super Bowl teams do not play in the Pro Bowl.

The 2017 Pro Bowl returns to the traditional AFC vs. NFC format following three years using an "unconferenced" structure.


©2016 Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.



Recommended For You