MABANK — The team of Danny Hughes, Billy Hughes, Jeff Thorpe and Scotty Bradley captured first place on Friday in the 32nd Annual Coaches Playday Golf Tournament at The Pinnacle Golf & Boat Club.

The tournament is sponsored by Trinity Valley Community College and the Athens Daily Review.

The winning team shot a 5-under 31 on both the front and back nines.

Two members of the winning team (Danny Hughes and Scotty Bradley) won for the first time. The other two members (Billy Hughes and Jeff Thorpe) added to their multiple-title totals. Hughes won for a fourth time, having previously won in 2003, 2008 and 2010). Thorpe won for a third time, having previously won in 1991 and 1997.

Hughes and Bradley winning for the first time raised the number of participants who have been on the winning team at least once in 32 years to 89.

Placing second wiht a 63 (30-33) was the team of Ronny Snow, John Trammell, Steve Green and Chancz Johnson.

A three-team scorecard playoff for third place went to the team of Eddie Arthus, Benny Rogers and Harold Jones. A birdie on the Par 4 first hole was the difference.

Eustace High School baseball coach Chris Powers was announced as the recipient of the C. O. Phillips Memorial Award, which is presented each year to an ambassador for golf in the memory of former Malakoff Junior High School C.O. Phillips, who was an avid golfer and multi-year participant in Coaches Playday. He died in the summer of 2000.

Prior to the start of the tournament, a moment of silence was held in memory of former Brownsboro High School coach/principal Bobby Teague. The four-time champion of the event died in July of 2018.

The first four holes were played in a light rain and then under partly sunny conditions the rest of the way.

The event was played at The Pinnacle for a fourth straight year and ninth time overall. The first Coaches Playday was held there in 1988.


32nd Annual Coaches Playday Tournament

Sponsored by Trinity Valley Community College and the Athens Daily Review

The Pinnacle Golf & Boat Club, Mabank

Danny Hughes-Billy Hughes-Jeff Thorpe-Scotty Bradley, 31-31—62; Ronny Snow-John Trammell-Steve Green-Chancz Johnson, 30-33—63; Eddie Arthus-Benny Rogers-Harold Jones, 32-32—64; Jason Hayes-Kevin Hayes-Paul Essary-Keith Gardner, 32-32—64; Blake Williamson-Jeremy Hammock-Don McSpadden-Jean McSpadden, 32-32—64; Chris Frederick-Sherard Poteete-Will Reed-Joe Elerson, 31-34—65; Russell Tapley-Carl Tapley-Doug Steger-Milburn Chaney, 35-32—67; Amy McAfee-Brian Owens-Brad Burnett-Jim Owens, 35-32—67; Joey Worley-Brian Merrick-Dale Norris-James Bass, 34-34—68; Chris Power-Steve Tardiff-Brett Zamzow-Daniel Pierce, 35-34—69; Chuck Chapman-Bill Mullins-David Reese-Robby Robertson, 35-35—70; Jay Kinzer-Jerry King-Jake Mienk-Lange Svehlak, 36-35—71.

Special Events

C.O. Phillips Memorial Award — Chris Powers

Putting Contest — Ronny Snow

Closest To The Hole — No. 2: Blake Williamson

Closest To The Hole — No. 7: Benny Rogers

Closest To The Hole — No. 10: Chuck Chapman

Longest Putt Made — No. 9: Danny Hughes

Number of Participants — 47.


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments