WBCC president Scott Terry (left)

presents the Willow Brook Men’s Club Golf Championship trophy to Colton Cavender on Sunday at Willow Brook Country Club.

With thunder in the background and light rain falling, Colton Cavender faced a bit of drama on the 18th hole of the Willow Brook Men’s Club Golf Championship.

Cavender, competing in his first club championship, was tied with five-time champion Aaron Hickman and was looking a five-foot putt to win the title. A miss would mean a sudden death playoff.

Cavender blocked everything out, stepped up and drained the putt like a champion on Sunday at Willow Brook Country Club.

That gave the recent All Saints Episcopal School graduate a final round of 2-under 69 for a 36-total of 143. He won by one stroke over Hickman (73-71—144).

Luke Loggins (72-73—145) was two strokes back in third.

Cavender had a first round of 74 on Saturday, which had him in third, trailing Loggins by two strokes and Hickman by one.

This was the first year the 18-year-old Cavender was eligible to participate in the Club Championship.

He now plans to attend TCU, where Hickman also went to college. Cavender said he may walk-on to the golf program, but no final decision has been made.

WBCC president Scott Terry presented the championship crystal trophy to Cavender.

Two-time defending champion Clay Hodge did not participate in the tournament this year.

Ryan Hill won the Seniors Flight with Dr. Bob Fender capturing the Super Seniors Flight.

Other gross flight winners were Matt Tucker (Presidents), Jonathan Lesniewski (First), Bailey Fender (Second) and Mike Martin Jr. (Third).

Net flight winners were Luke Freeman (Presidents), Taylor Fitzgerald (First), Stephen Perkins (Second), Neal Vasso (Third), Tone Lester (Super Seniors) and Bert Ferris (Seniors).


Willow Brook Men’s Club Golf Championship

Willow Brook Country Club, Tyler

Championship Flight — Colton Cavender, 74-69—143; Aaron Hickman, 73-71—144; Luke Loggins, 72-73—145; Joel Hackney, 76-79—155; Jared Green, 80-83—163; Clay Snyder, 82-84—166.

Presidents Flight — Gross: 1, Matt Tucker, 84-72—156; 2, Joe Freeman, 79-84—163. Net: 1, Luke Freeman, 73-72—145; 2, Jon Honea, 74-78—152.

First Flight — Gross: 1, Jonathan Lesniewski, 85-79—164; 2, Don Robert Johnson, 77-88—165. Net: 1, Taylor Fitzgerald, 69-76—145; 2, Jay Ward, 73-74—147.

Second Flight — Gross: 1, Bailey Fender, 90-89—179. Net: 1, Stephen Perkins, 74-81—155.

Third Flight — Gross: 1, Mike Martin Jr., 89-98—187. Net: 1, Neal Vasso, 77-81—158.

Super Seniors Flight — Gross: 1, Dr. Bob Fender, 85-81—166. Net: 1, Tone Lester, 75-69—144.

Seniors Flight — Gross: 1, Ryan Hill, 71-74—145; 2, Jacky Lee, 73-73—146. Net: 1, Bert Ferris, 70-72—142; 2, Steve Duffey, 69-74—143.


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments