Lindale boys, girls take second in 16-5A golf


BULLARD — Lindale's boys and girls golf teams are moving on to regionals after placing second in the District 16-5A golf tournament on Wednesday at Eagle's Bluff Country Club.

The Lufkin boys and Whitehouse girls, meanwhile, both claimed district titles in the two-day event that began on Monday at Pine Dunes Golf Club.

Lindale's Kennedy Wheeler won girls medalist honors by firing a 161 (84-77). She was followed by Whitehouse's Bailey West (92-78—170) and Kyndall Morgan (93-78—171).

The LadyCats turned in a card of 727 for the two-round tournament to finish well ahead of Lindale (815).

The championship Whitehouse squad included: Morgan, West, Makenzie Holt (102-92—194), Allyson Carter (95-106—201) and Rachel Fulgham (120-97—217).

Competing for the Lady Eagles were: Wheeler, Bethany Simmons (108-93—201), Bonnie Smith (119-103—222), Marry Stewart (125-112—237) and Jasmine Hatfield (119-120—239).

The John Tyler Lady Lions (506-482—988) finished third. Competing for JT were Curtassia Williams (116-106—222), Morgan Ellis (119-116—235), Khari McFarland (131-119—250) and Ana Ramirez (140-141—281).

Corsicana's Mady Hodge (109-93—202) and Nacogdoches' Elizabeth Shepherd (110-93—203) qualified for regionals as individuals.

On the boys side, the Panthers took first behind top medalist Marco Maldonado, who blistered the two courses by carding 66-67—133, 10 strokes ahead of second-place Garrett White, of Lindale. Lufkin's John Portwood took third (75-71—146).

The Panthers finished with a two-round score of 578 to edge out Lindale's 616. Lufkin's B team was third at 636.

Joining White at regionals from Lindale will be Ethan Puckett (75-74—149), Evan White (78-78—156), Dylan Sims (83-85—168) and Mason Waldron (86-95—181).

The two individual qualifiers for regionals were Jacksonville's Cameron Brown (71-77—148) and Nacogdoches' Ben Augustine (73-76—149).

John Tyler finished ninth at 436-451—887. Competing for the Lions team were Chris Cornelio (104-108—212), Boni Nunez (106-111—217), Fred Welge (113-116—229), Salvador Carmona (116-116—232) and Donnell Anderson (113-130—243). Juan Hernandez (110-113—223) and Tristen Henderson (120-107—227) also competed for JT.

— Travis Yoesting


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed