Whitehouse and Corsicana, two teams who shared the league crown, split seven superlatives on the 16-4A all-district baseball team.

Individuals earning top honors for the state-semifinalist Wildcats included senior Jared Raabe (Offensive Most Valuable Player), senior Michael Nuon (Defensive MVP), junior Ryan Cheatham (Pitcher of the Year) and Derrick Jenkins (Co-Coach of the Year).

Corsicana claimed a piece of four superlatives: Holden Grounds (Most Valuable Player), sophomore Bobby Lopez (Newcomer of the Year), Trevor Nolen (Freshman of the Year) and Heath Autry (Co-Coach of the Year). 

Five players made the first team for Whitehouse: junior pitcher Patrick Mahomes, senior catcher Derek Clemons, sophomore second baseman Eriz Munoz, junior third baseman Jake Parker and junior utility player Brayden Rawlinson. 

Lindale placed three players on the first team: junior pitcher Sam Sitton, junior shortstop Kyle Bond and junior outfielder Kris Bond. 

Three John Tyler players dotted the second team: sophomore pitcher Jeremy Wilson, sophomore catcher Dustin Smith and senior utility Nathen Jacobs. 


16-4A All-District Baseball Team

Most Valuable Player — Holden Grounds, Sr., Corsicana

Offensive MVP — Jared Raabe, Sr., Whitehouse

Defensive MVP — Michael Nuon, Sr., Whitehouse

Pitcher of the Year — Ryan Cheatham, Jr., Whitehouse

Newcomer of the Year — Bobby Lopez, So., Corsicana

Freshman of the Year — Trevor Nolen, Fr., Corsicana

Coaches of the Year — Derrick Jenkins, Whitehouse; Heath Autry, Corsicana

First Team

Pitchers — Patrick Mahomes, Jr., Whitehouse; Brett Eckles, Sr., Jacksonville; Sam Sitton, Jr., Lindale; Catcher — Derek Clemons, Sr., Whitehouse; First Base — Brigham Hill, Jr., Nacogdoches; Second Base — Eric Munoz, So., Whitehouse; Third Base — Jake Parker, Jr., Whitehouse; Shortstop — Kyle Bond, Jr., Lindale; Outfielders — Bradley Harlan, So., Corsicana; Zane Otten, Sr., Corsicana; Kris Bond, Jr., Lindale; Will Boozer, Jr., Nacogdoches; Designated Hitter — Aaron Clemons, Sr., Whitehouse; Utilitity — Brayden Rawlinson, Jr., Jacksonville. 

Second Team

Pitchers — Chase Brown, So., Lindale; Nate  Harshbarger, So., Nacogdoches; Jeremy Wilson, So., John Tyler; Catcher — Dustin Smith, So., John Tyer; Mason Smith, Fr., Jacksonville; First Base — Nash Walters, So., Lindale; Second Base — Layton Wolver, Fr., Corsicana; Micah Walker, So., Lindale; Third Base — Jesse Valdez, Jr., Lindale; Shortstop — Hunter Denbow, Sr., Corsicana; Hunter McClellan, So., Nacogdoches; Outfielders — Coleman Patterson, Jr., Whitehouse; Rex Swinney, Jr., Whitehouse; Aaron Cantu, Sr, Corsicana; Ryan Dudley, So., Lindale; Designate Hitter — Ben Goodrich, Sr., Corsicana; Utility — Nathen Jacobs, Sr., John Tyler; Chris Holcomb, Jr. Jacksonville; Pat Ledut, Sr., Nacogdoches. 


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed