Tyler's Wade semifinalist for Jim Thorpe Award

Triston Wade, a John Tyler High School graduate who is a senior safety for UT San Antonio, is a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.

OKLAHOMA CITY — Triston Wade was named one of 15 semifinalists for this year’s Jim Thorpe Award, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced on Monday morning. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

The senior safety from Tyler leads UT San Antonio with 57 tackles (32 solos/25 assists), nine pass breakups, three interceptions and two fumble recoveries through the season’s first eight contests. He is the first-ever Football Bowl Subdivision major award semifinalist in the Roadrunners’ history.

A two-year team captain, Wade, a graduate of John Tyler High School, has appeared in all 42 career games (36 starts) and is the Roadrunners’ all-time leader in tackles (264), pass breakups (30), interceptions (11), forced fumbles (8) and fumble recoveries (6).

In fact, the Tyler native has had a hand in a total of 21 turnovers (11 INTs/10 fumble recoveries) in the first 42 outings of his career and he has started 35 consecutive games.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. It was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but he also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, he played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in both the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Thorpe Award semifinalists were chosen by a screening committee and this year’s three finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 24.

This season’s winner will be unveiled on Thursday, Dec. 11, at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet then will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 3, 2015, in Oklahoma City.

JT graduate Aaron Ross, while at The University of Texas, won the award in 2006.

UTSA will return to action Saturday, Nov. 8, at Rice (4-3, 2-1 C-USA).


2014 Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists

Sam Carter, TCU

Jeremy Cash, Duke

Landon Collins, Alabama

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech

Senquez Golson, Mississippi

Josh Hawkins, East Carolina

Gerod Holliman, Louisville

Ronald Martin, LSU

Cody Prewitt, Mississippi

Jordan Richards, Stanford

Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma

Triston Wade, UTSA

Trae Waynes, Michigan State

PJ Williams, Florida State

Recommended for you