District champion and state runner-up Henderson earned top honors — including overall Most Valuable Player Tiarra Davis — on the All-District 16-3A softball team, the league’s coaches announced.

Davis was joined on the superlative list by teammates Natalie McQuiston (offensive MVP), Tessa Thomas (co-defensive MVP) and Kami McCaw (co-newcomer of the year).

Other top honors went to Gladewater’s Katy Stephens (co-defensive MVP), Melanie Stephens (co-newcomer of the year) and Carthage’s Samantha Clakley (pitcher of the year).

Coaching staff of the year honors went to Henderson, which defeated Liberty Hill in the state semifinals before falling to Lufkin Hudson in the Class 3A state championship game.

Davis, a junior who has already given an oral commitment to the University of Texas, was 19-7 inside the circle with a 1.76 earned run average, six shutouts and 207 strikeouts in 176.2 innings pitched. She also hit .484 with 19 doubles, four triples, 19 RBIs and 12 stolen bases.

District 16-3A Softball

Most Valuable Player — Tiarra Davis, Henderson

Offensive Most Valuable Player — Natalie McQuiston, Henderson

Co-Defensive Most Valuable Player — Tessa Thomas, Henderson; Katy Stephens, Gladewater

Pitcher of the Year — Samantha Clakley

Co-Newcomer of the Year — Kami McCaw, Henderson; Melanie Stephens, Gladewater

First Team

Infield — Alison Waggoner, Henderson; Ashlyn White, Spring Hill; Sarah Hunger, Gladewater; Katie Hickey, Gladewater; Makayla Sikes, Gilmer; Karley Free, Henderson

Outfield — Courtney Scott, Spring Hill; Jennifer Armstrong, Henderson; Taylor White, Henderson; Katelin Sikes, Gilmer; Katelyn Pope, Carthage

Designated Player — Brooklyn Davis, Gladewater

Utility — Shelby Soape, Carthage; Allison Akins, Spring Hill

Second Team

Infield — Madison Martin, Spring Hill; Brooklyn Peace, Carthage; Sarah Clakley, Carthage; Morgan Wedgeworth, Carthage; Keambria Hunter, Gladewater; Sassy Meadows, Gilmer

Outfield — Jenna Toon, Henderson; Alyss Jalomo, Gladewater; Morgan Wilson, Gilmer; Ali Wood, Pittsburg

Designated Player — Taylor Sledge, Henderson

Utility — Morgan McClellon, Pittsburg

Honorable Mention

Henderson — Jessica Thomas; Carthage — Ashleigh Edge; Gladewater — Morgan Bradford, Rachael Hitt; Pittsburg — Amanda Mercer, Nataria Wilson, Denasia Watson

Academic All-District

Spring Hill — Allison Akins, Ashlyn White, Kylie Boyce, Madison Haney, Vanessa Robbins, Hailie Gilbert, Jacey Fleet, Madison Martin, Carlee Campbell; Carthage — Brittany Addington, Sarah Clakley, Brooklyn Peace, Katelyn Pope, Marissa Shaw, Shelby Soape, Morgan Wedgeworth, Samantha Clakley, Morgan Davis, Ashleigh Edge, Brianna Gwinn; Gladewater — Alyssa Jalomo, Katie Hickey, Rachael Hitt, Katy Stephens, Keambria Hunter, Victoria Barton, Allison Simmons, Melanie Stephens; Gilmer — Katelin Sikes, Morgan Williams, Chelsey Alexander, Chelsea Miears, Kayla Calvert, Shaylee Fennell, Sassy Meadows, Bree Rawls, Makayla Sikes, Kaitlyn Crockett, Jordan Hollingsworth; Pittsburg — Allix Smith, Karley McGraw.


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed