Tyler ISD Athletics

A state championship winning coach, a four-sport letterman and state championship athlete, a three-sport letterman, four two-sports stars, a state finalist team and a huge contributor to the Tyler school district are the latest additions to the Tyler ISD Athletic Hall of Fame, Greg Priest, the district’s athletic director, announced on Wednesday.

The 2019 inductees are:

Kelli Fitzpatrick Armstrong, Tyler Lee (Class of 1997, volleyball, soccer)

Bill “Tiger”Johnson, Tyler High (Class of 1945, football, baseball)

Hayden Moore, John Tyler (Class of 1959, basketball, baseball)

Mike Owens, Tyler Lee (1996-2010, head football coach/campus coordinator, led Red Raiders to 2004 state championship)

Ray Thompson, Contributor (Christus Trinity Mother Frances, instrumental in renovation of Christus Trinity Mother Frances Rose Stadium)

Melvin Waits, Emmett J. Scott High School/Tyler Lee (Class of 1971, football, track)

David Warren, John Tyler (Class of 1997, football, basketball, baseball, track, member of 1994 JT state championship football team)

Doug Wyatt, John Tyler (Class of 1965, football, basketball, baseball)

The 1976 John Tyler state basketball finalist team (finished runner-up in the 4A state basketball tournament).

Inductees were selected based on their high school achievements, post-high-school accomplishments and other contributing factors, Priest said.

The Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at a ceremony Saturday, Sept. 7 before the John Tyler vs. Tyler Lee football game on Earl Campbell Field at Christus Trinity Mother Frances Rose Stadium.

The ceremony is set for 6:45 p.m. Kickoff for the football game is 7 p.m.

To be considered for the Tyler ISD Athletic Hall of Fame, an athlete, coach or contributor must be nominated.

To nominate someone for the 2020 class, visit http://tylersports.rankonesport.com. Nomination forms must be received by June 1, 2020. Athletes, coaches and contributors must have graduated or no longer be a part of the school district for at least five years before being considered. Tyler High, Emmett Scott, John Tyler and Tyler Lee graduates are eligible.

2013 Inductees

Earl Campbell, John Tyler High School Class of 1974, football

Mike Carter, John Tyler High School Class of 1968, baseball

Clifford Gregory, Tyler High School Class of 1930, football

Billy Hall, Tyler High School Class of 1956, basketball, coach and principal at Robert E. Lee High School, and former TISD athletic director

Daniel Hernandez, John Tyler High School Class of 1994, soccer

Charles Milstead, Tyler High School Class of 1955, football

Kristee Porter, John Tyler High School Class of 1998, volleyball

Aaron Ross, John Tyler High School Class of 2000, football

Robert Taylor, Emmett Scott High School Class of 1968, track

Dayna Reed Westbrook, Robert E. Lee High School class of 1987, basketball

Allen Wilson, John Tyler High School, head football coach

1973 John Tyler football team

2014 Inductees

Todd Bricker, Robert E. Lee Class of 1992, swimming

Fred Coleman, Robert E. Lee Class of 1993, football

Jana Crosby Russell, Robert E. Lee Class of 1986, basketball

A’Quonesia Franklin, John Tyler Class of 2004, basketball

Dick Hightower, Tyler High Class of 1948, football

Ronnie Lee, John Tyler Class of 1975, football

Alan Shumate, contributor, public address announcer for REL in both football and basketball

Johnny “Red” Stidger, coach John Tyler, football, baseball, golf

1930 Tyler High School state football champions

1994 John Tyler state football champions

2004 Robert E. Lee state football champions

2015 Inductees

Willie Campbell, Emmett Scott Class of 1965, football

Bob Faulkner, contributor, tennis

Danny Palmer, John Tyler Class of 1967, football, basketball, baseball

Edwill Rollins II, Robert E. Lee Class of 1973, track, football

Harry Shuford, Tyler High Class of 1932, football

2016 Inductees

Matt Flynn, Robert E. Lee Class of 2003, football

Dr. Theodore Henderson, Emmett Scott Class of 1960, football, basketball, baseball

Wanda Sowell Hendrix, Tyler High Class of 1956, golf

Alfred “Al” Humphrey, John Tyler Class of 1971, football

Carl Love, John Tyler basketball coach

Larry Jones, Robert E. Lee basketball coach

Juli Murphy Collins, Robert E. Lee Class of 1998, soccer

William “Travis” Wallace, Emmett Scott Class of 1960, basketball, baseball

1959 Robert E. Lee golf state championship team

2017 Inductees

Morgan Denson, Tyler Lee, track, cross country, swimming

Royce Franklin, John Tyler, coach, football, basketball, track

John “Mutt” Heller, Tyler High, John Tyler, football, basketball, track

C.M. Marks, Emmett Scott, coach, football, basketball, baseball

D’Angelo Newsom, John Tyler, track

Clayton Stanley, Tyler Lee, tennis

Dr. Ken Talkington, Tyler High, football, basketball, baseball

1967 & 1968 John Tyler baseball state tournament teams

2018 Inductees

Gary Baxter, John Tyler (football, 1997)

James “Jim” Warren Davis, Tyler High (football, baseball, 1956)

Gary Don Johnson, John Tyler (football, 1975)

Marianne Jones, Tyler Lee (girls basketball coach, 1983-98)

Billy Lawson Sr., John Tyler (boys basketball coach, 1978-88)

Corey Mayfield Sr., Tyler Lee (football, 1988)

Laura Hanna Waits, Tyler Lee (tennis, 1980)

1968 Emmett Scott Basketball Team (Prairie View Interscholastic League 3A state champions)



Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments