John Tyler junior post Tyus Bowser left no doubt. 

District 14-4A coaches unanimously voted Bowser the league’s Most Valuable Player.

With Bowser leading the team in scoring, rebounding and blocks, JT finished as co-district champions. Bowser averaged 15.0 points, 9.5 rebounds and more than one block and one steal per game.  

JT increased its district win-streak to 25 games before finishing 12-2 in league play. The Lions ended the year 24-8. 

Whitehouse sophomore Pat Mahomes earned Offensive Player of the Year honors. Mahomes helped Whitehouse reach the area round.

Hallsville senior post Darrian Gilmore, a big 6-6 presence inside, won the honor for Defensive Player of Year.

Kilgore junior Sharod Kincade and Whitehouse sophomore Jake Parker shared Co-Newcomer of the Year accolades.

Jeff Coleman of Kilgore and Brent Kelley of Jacksonville shared Coach of the Year. Coleman guided Kilgore from the cellar to the area round.

Kelley’s Jacksonville team tied for the district tile and reached the second round.

The first team featured seven unanimous selections, including JT juniors Fred Ross and Greg Ward, Jacksonville’s Darius Clater and Dadrian Franklin, Kilgore’s Jerrick Massenburge, Marshall’s Alandric Tutt and Nacogdoches’ Mason Proctor.


All-District 14-4A Boys Basketball Team

District Most Valuable Player — Tyus Bowser, Jr., John Tyler (U)

Offensive Most Valuable Player — Pat Mahomes, So., Whitehouse

Defensive Most Valuable Player — Darrian Gilmore, Sr., Hallsville

Co-Newcomers of the Year — Sharod Kincade, Jr., Kilgore; Jake Parker, So., Whitehouse

Co-Coaches of the Year — Jeff Coleman, Kilgore; Brent Kelley, Jacksonville

First Team

KB Brisidine, Sr., Kilgore 

Darius Clater, Sr., Jacksonville (U)

Dadrian Franklin, Sr., Jacksonville (U)

Jerrick Massenburge, Sr., Kilgore (U)

Mason Proctor, Jr., Nacogdoches (U)

Fred Ross, Jr., John Tyler (U)

Taylor Smelley, Sr., Hallsville

LanDedric Taylor, Jr., Jacksonville 

Alandric Tutt, Sr., Marshall (U)

Greg Ward, Jr., John Tyler (U)

Second Team

Tray Bonner, Sr., Hallsville 

Kedarrius Buckingham, Jr., Jacksonville

Caleb Chumley, So, Pine Tree

Correy Davis, Sr., Pine Tree

Jaylon Dews, So., Whitehouse

Darion Flowers, Jr., John Tyler

TT Green, Sr., Marshall  

Tra’Vion Horn, Sr., John Tyler 

Garren Jernigan, Jr., Marshall 

Raybon Riden, Sr. Jacksonville

Austin Willeford, Jr., Nacogdoches 

Caleb Willis, Sr., John Tyler

(U) — Unanimous

Recommended for you

Load comments