Howard Story and Abner Barrera, two key reasons John Tyler won the District 31-4A boys’ soccer title, reaped the rewards for their efforts.

Barrera repeated as the district’s most valuable player and Story secured coach of the year honors.

JT reached the sectional round under Story for the third straight season, losing to eventual regional champion Mount Pleasant.

The Lions lost only once in district play, where they allowed six goals in 10 matches.

Barrera, senior midfielder, topped JT with 13 goals and seven assists on the season.

Whitehouse won a pair of superlatives on the legs of Andrew Stevenson (Defensive MVP) and Corey Scheel (Newcomer of the Year).

Athens also claimed two superlatives thanks to the duo of Enrique Rodriguez (Sophomore of the Year) and Artura Alvarado (Goalkeeper of the Year).

Lindale’s Riley Alvey was tabbed Offensive MVP for the district runner-up squad.

The Lions led all teams with five first team selections. Seniors Jose Arroyo, Daniel Garcia and Jose Hernandez joined juniors Porfirio Benitez and Juan Cornejo on the first team.

Lindale placed four players on the first team: Davis Behee, Caleb Powers, Joel Ramirez, Sr. and Hezekiah Shipman.

Whitehouse, which advanced to the area round, accounted for three first team spots: Brandon Cottrell, Alvaro Lopez and Destin Wilkins.

All-District 31-4A

Boys Soccer Team


Coach of the Year — Howard Story, John Tyler

Most Valuable Player — Abner Barrera, Sr., John Tyler

Offensive MVP — Riley Alvey, Jr., Lindale

Defensive MVP — Andrew Stevenson, Jr., Whitehouse

Sophomore of the Year — Enrique Rodriguez, So., Athens

Newcomer of the Year — Corey Scheel, Sr., Whitehouse

Goalkeeper of the Year — Arturo Alvarado, Sr., Athens

First Team

Athens — Bryant Castaneda, Jr.; Eliseo Rodriguez, Sr.; Jose Romero, Sr.

Chapel Hill — Pedro Gonzales, Sr.; Jesus Tarango, Sr.

John Tyler — Jose Arroyo, Sr.; Porfirio Benitez, Jr.; Juan Cornejo, Jr.; Daniel Garcia, Sr.; Jose Hernandez, Sr.

Kemp — Dalton Chambers, Sr.; Matt Kinney, Sr.

Lindale — Davis Behee, Jr.; Caleb Powers, Sr.; Joel Ramirez, Sr.; Hezekiah Shipman, Sr.

Mabank — Chase Williams, Sr.

Whitehouse — Brandon Cottrell, Sr.; Alvaro Lopez, Sr.; Destin Wilkins, Jr.

Second Team

Athens — Alex Cleto, Sr.; Carlos Murillo, Jr.; Alfredo Vazquez, Jr.

Chapel Hill — Jose Argote, So.; Isai Torrescano, Jr.

John Tyler — Daniel Montoya, Jr.; Damian Olivares, Sr.; Naid Pineda, Jr.; Jose Valdez, So.

Kemp — Dayton Chambers, Sr.

Lindale — Lane Casey, Jr. Lindale; Shane Edmondson, Jr. Lindale; Nate Nichols, Jr.

Mabank — Arturo Ledezma, Sr.; Jonathan Massengale, Sr.

Whitehouse — Randy Eskelson, Sr.; Edwin Garcia, Jr.; Elijah Stevenson, Jr.

Honorable Mention

John Tyler — Aron Alonso, Fr; Gerardo Lopez, Jr.