7 on 7

The John Tyler Lions are on their latest summer trip, traveling to the Tar Heel State to play in the Powerade Blazing 7on7 Invitational.

The Lions will be competing in the tournament that features 32 teams from 19 states at Matthews Sportsplex in Matthews, North Carolina, near Charlotte. JT is the lone Texas team.

On Thursday, there is a Meet & Greet, along with a skills competition (quarterback accuracy, wide receiver hands, fast man 40-yard dash, US Marine Corp obstacle course).

Three NFL players will be on hand — DeShone Kizer (Green Bay Packers), Mohamed Sanu (Atlanta Falcons) and Landon Collins (Washington Redskins).

Pool play begins on Friday, from 7:15 a.m. to 2 p.m. There will be seven pool play games.

On Saturday, there is bracket play from 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. It is double-elimination until the quarterfinals.

Some pool play games will be streamed on ESPN3 on Friday. The semifinals and championship games will be broadcast on ESPNU on Saturday.

JT is in the Potassium Pool with Vero Beach (Florida), Thornton Fractional North (lllinois), Johns Creek (Georgia), Carolina Forest Rock Hill (South Carolina), Richmond County (North Carolina), Life Christian Academy (Virginia) and Oakland (Tennessee).

The Lions’ schedule on Friday includes (Central times): vs. Richmond County, 8 a.m.; vs. Carolina Forest, 9:10 a.m.; vs. Johns Creek, 9:45 a.m.; vs. Vero Beach, 10:20 a.m.; vs. Oakland, 11:45 a.m.; vs. TF North, 12:40 p.m.; and vs. Life Christian, 1:15 p.m.

The Calcium Pool includes Tiger Nation Camden (New Jersey), Rock Hill South Pointe (South Carolina), Woodward Academy (Georgia), Gray Collegiate (South Carolina), Hough (North Carolina), Oscar Smith (Virginia), Bryant (Arkansas) and Kenton (Ohio).

The Magnesium Pool includes Timber Creek (New Jersey), Patrick Henry (Virginia), Brownsburg (Indiana), Cedar Grove (Georgia), Hilton Head (South Carolina), Weddington (North Carolina), Holmes County Central (Mississippi) and Christ The King (New York).

The Sodium Pool includes H.W. Pumas (Maryland), Greenwood (South Carolina), McGill-Toolen (Alabama), Maury (Virginia), Neumann-Goretti (Pennsylvania), Bluefield (West Virginia), Vance (North Carolina) and Male (Kentucky).

After pool play, the teams will be seeded into bracket play on Saturday.

The first-place team receives $15,000, followed by second ($7,500), third ($5,000) and fourth ($2,500). The champions receive BSN Sports vouchers to purchase sports equipment for their schools and a championship trophy.

Each game is 22 minutes with a television timeout taken during the first change of possession after the 11-minute mark of each game.

All possessions will originate from the 40-yard line to start a game, or after a turnover on downs or interception. Possession will be decided by a coin toss. No running plays are allowed.

The quarterback has four seconds to release the ball or it is blown dead with a 5-yard penalty and a loss of down. If the QB drops the snap the four second count starts immediately and the play continues. There is no rushing the QB and no RB passes. Two first downs are possible per possession, achieved when reaching the 25-yard line in three downs and reaching the 10-yard line in three downs. Once you reach the 10-yard line you have three downs to score.

Scoring includes: 6 points for touchdowns; 1 point for conversion from 5-yard line; 2 points for conversion from 10-yard line; 3 points for defensive interceptions; 2 points for defensive stops (defensive stops and interceptions are not combined) and no points for an interception on a try after touchdown).



Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments