Staff Reports

The John Tyler Lady Lions used a two-platoon system with 10 players all providing good minutes in their District 16-5A title run.

On the all-district team released Monday, nine of those players were honored, including freshman Destini Whitehead, who was named Defensive Player of the Year.

The Lady Lions had four players selected to the first team, two on the second team and two more named honorable mention. Additionally, JT’s Mike Smith was named Coach of the Year.

Lufkin junior post Natasha Mack earned Most Valuable Player honors for leading the Lady Panthers to a second-place finish and being the only team to beat JT in league play.

Whitehouse freshman Karlea Duhon earned Newcomer of the Year honors while Corsicana junior Destini Lunsford was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Whitehead averaged 7.5 points, 2.9 steals and 1.6 assists coming off the bench for JT.

Earning first-team honors for the Lady Lions were senior wing Amia Wickware (12.8 points, 6.3 rebounds, 3.2 steals, 1.2 blocks, 1.9 assists) senior point guard Tameal Jones (10.2 points, 3.2 assists, 2.9 steals), junior guard Ashtyn Beal (13.5 points, 2.4 assists, 2.6 steals) and sophomore forward Alyssa Mayfield (8.8 points, 7.5 rebounds).

John Tyler juniors Shakendra Tilley and Kaleigh Hackett were named to the second team while freshman Kaleon Grant and sophomore Daz Johnson earned honorable mention.

The Lady Lions’ nine selections were the most of any team, with Lindale coming in next at six selections, three each on the second team and honorable mention.


2014-15 All-District 16-5A Girls Basketball Team

Most Valuable Player — Natasha Mack, Jr., Lufkin

Offensive Player of the Year — Destini Lunsford, Jr., Corsicana

Defensive Player of the Year — Destini Whitehead, Fr., John Tyler

Newcomer of the Year — Karlea Duhon, Fr., Whitehouse

Coach of the Year — Mike Smith, John Tyler


First Team

Corsicana —Kennady Bette, Jr.; Shamara Taylor, Sr. Jacksonville —Damonica Franklin, Sr. John Tyler —Amia Wickware, Sr.; Ashtyn Beal, Jr.; Tameal Jones, Sr.; Alyssa Mayfield, Soph. Lufkin —Jakalah Suell, Soph., Ivie Massie, Soph. Nacogdoches —Ridaija Miller, Jr.; Camary Wright, Sr. Whitehouse — Ashton Ates, Sr.; Morgan Tauscher, Sr.


Second Team

Corsicana — Jamie Reeves, Jr. Jacksonville —Inchantra Kendrick, Jr. John Tyler —Shakendra Tilley, Jr.; Kaleigh Hackett, Jr. Lindale — Heather McLaughlin, Jr.; Lorin Reue, Fr.; Lexa Clay, Jr. Lufkin — Shay Brooks, Jr. Nacogdoches —D’Aisha Jackson, Soph. Whitehouse —Madyson Wilkins, Sr.


Honorable Mention

Jacksonville — Aisha Griffin, Sr.; Alicia Boykin, Soph. John Tyler —Kaleon Grant, Fr.; Daz Johnson, Soph. Lindale — Jade Mauldin, Sr.; McKenna Cox, Jr.; Taylor Webb, Fr. Whitehouse — Kelly Keller, Sr.