East Texas Christian Academy junior Cade Suggs was named the Defensive Player of the Year on the TAPPS 2-1A/2A all-district baseball team.

Suggs, a pitcher and first baseman, led the Panthers with a .603 batting average and a 0.71 ERA with 63 strikeouts in 49 innings.

Rockwall Christian Academy third baseman Colton Jones was named the Offensive Player of the Year while his coach, Caleb Palmer, earned Coach of the Year honors. Two Rockwall Christian players shared Freshman of the Year honors: catcher Robert Rodriguez and shortstop Austin Dean.

Dallas Lakehill Prep senior pitcher Phillip Macurak was tabbed as the Newcomer of the Year.

Suggs was joined on the all-district first team by fellow ETCA juniors pitcher Sawyer Dorsey and shortstop Will Finley.

Dorsey sported a 2.48 ERA, striking out 43 in 42 2-3 innings while also slugging a team-best three home runs and scoring a team-high 35 runs.

Finley batted .423 and had a .915 fielding percentage with a team-high 124 innings played.

Additionally, junior catcher Brett Bowers, who led the team with 24 RBIs, and freshman left fielder Gray Pirtle, who batted .422, were named to the second team from the Panthers.

ETCA senior center fielder Cooper Vernon, junior second baseman Phil Martin and freshman utility Brandon Baker earned honorable mention.

Also, Blake Sparkman was the school’s representative on the Sportsmanship Team.

Additionally, on the all-district softball team, ETCA senior outfielders Kimberly Greenlee and Holly Zubro earned honorable mention.


2012 TAPPS 2-1A/2A

All-District Baseball Team

Sportsmanship Team

Shelby Sharpless, Rockwall Christian Academy (RCA)

Blake Sparkman, East Texas Christian Academy (ETCA)

Shane Holley, DeSoto The Canterbury School (TCES)

Jake Hornberger, Dallas The Covenant School (TCS)

Phillip Macurak, Dallas Lakehill Prep (LHP)

Mason Rook, Greenville Christian School (GCS)

Evan Pettit, Rockwall Heritage Christian Academy (HCA)

Offensive Player of the Year — Colton Jones, RCA

Defensive Player of the Year — Cade Suggs, ETCA

Co-Freshmen of the Year — Robert Rodriguez, RCA; Austin Dean, RCA

Newcomer of the Year — Phillip Macurak, LHP

Coach of the Year — Caleb Palmer, RCA

First Team

John Edwards, Sr. P, RCA

Cade Suggs, Jr. 1B, ETCA

Trevor Howard, So. P, TCES

Robert Rodriguez, Fr. C, RCA

Colton Jones, So. 3B, RCA

Phillip Macurak, Sr. P, LHP

Sawyer Dorsey, Jr. P, ETCA

A.J. Uland, Sr. P, GCS

Austin Dean, Fr. SS, RCA

Dylan Elkins, Sr. SS, TCES

Jake Hornberger, Sr. 3B, TCS

Tanner Haley, Jr. UTL, RCA

Will Finley, Jr. SS, ETCA

Caleb Cathey, Sr. P, HCA

Kurt Norman, Sr. 3B, LHP

Second Team

Alex Powers, Sr. OF, TCES

Jordan Williams, Jr 1B, RCA

Brett Bowers, Jr. C, ETCA

Ben Koop, Jr. C, TCS

Mason Rook, Sr. SS, GCS

Taylor Corbin, Sr. CF, RCA

Zach Duren, So. C, TCES

Cameron Carroccia, Jr. LF, RCA

Benson Moore, So. 1B, TCS

Gray Pirtle, Fr. LF, ETCA

Luke Ellerman, So. P, TCS

Austin Simpson, Sr. 1B, LHP

Colby Boozer, So. CF, TCS

Josh McKenzie, Jr. C, RCA

Evan Pettit, Jr. C, HCA

Honorable Mention

Shelby Sharpless, Jr. RF, RCA; Cooper Vernon, Sr. CF, ETCA; Phil Martin, Jr. 2B, ETCA; Brandon Baker, Fr. UTL, ETCA; Michael Lutz, Fr. CF, GCS; Nathan Weaks, So. P, GCS; Ian Wright, Fr. 2B, TCES; Dylan Vu, Sr. OF, TCES; Shane Holley, Sr. OF, TCES; Casey Maxwell, So. SS, TCS; Mac Sellers, So. LF, TCS; Carson May, Jr. RF, TCS; Drew Norman, So. SS, LHP; Hudson Trent, So. C, LHP; Josh Wood, Jr. P, LHP.

Recommended for you

Load comments