Tyler Lee’s Matt Wade (34) goes up for a shot above Rockwall-Heath defenders during a game this past season.

Tyler Lee junior Matt Wade earned first-team honors on the All-District 11-6A boys basketball team for the 2019-20 season.

Junior Teon Erwin and senior Jamal Jones landed on the second team for the Red Raiders.

Mesquite Horn’s Zaakir Sawyer — a Louisiana-Monroe pledge — was selected as the Most Valuable Player.

Mesquite’s Diandre Heath was named the Offensive Player of the Year.

Longview had the Defensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year — George Mason signee Malik Henry and freshman Jalen Hale, respectively.

Other first-team selections were Longview’s Philip Washington, Mesquite Horn’s Preston Aymond and Devon Hancock, North Mesquite’s Jamor Mallard, Rockwall’s Sherman Brashear and Will Batoszek and Rockwall-Heath’s Kam Pruitt, Skyler Stutts and Chandler Dickinson.

Jaiden Pinson earned honorable mention for Lee.

Red Raiders on the Academic All-District team were Michael Berry, Elliott Davison, Jordan Davault, Will Mitchell, Nathan Noland, Landry Simmons and Jaylon Spencer.



Most Valuable Player — Zaakir Sawyer, Mesquite Horn, senior

Offensive MVP — Diandre Heath, Mesquite, senior

Defensive MVP — Malik Henry, Longview, senior

Newcomer of the Year — Jalen Hale, Longview, freshman


Tyler Lee — Matt Wade

Longview — Philip Washington

Mesquite Horn — Preston Aymond, Devon Hancock

North Mesquite — Jamor Mallard

Rockwall — Sherman Brashear, Will Batoszek

Rockwall-Heath — Kam Pruitt, Skyler Stutts, Chandler Dickinson


Tyler Lee — Teon Erwin, Jamal Jones

Longview — Chase Glasper, Zion Stanley

North Mesquite — Kai Howard

Rockwall-Heath — Hugh Moore

Rockwall — Logan Hutton, Keshon Kittrell

Mesquite Horn — Jarrell King, Isaiah Chandler

Mesquite — Xaiver Golightly

TWITTER: @BrandonOSports

Recommended for you

Load comments