Abner Barrera copped the top award of the night and multiple others to highlight the John Tyler sports banquet on Thursday at the St. Louis Family Life Center.

Barrera, a senior two-sport standout, won the prestigious Lawrence LaCroix Memorial Award. The LaCroix plaque, named in honor of the late JT coach who died in 1979, goes to the school’s top student-athlete. Criteria consist of character, citizenship, leadership and moral fiber.

On the soccer field, Barrera earned District 31-4A Most Valuable Player and All-East Texas first-team recognition for the second straight year. He reached the regional meet in cross country for the second consecutive season as well.

Barrera received Most Valuable Player recognition in both boys soccer and boys cross country.

Not yet done, Barrera visited the platform a final time to be honored with the Daniel and Nico Hernandez Soccer Achievement Grant, with the female prize going to Andrea Araiza. Nico Hernandez presented the award, while Daniel Hernandez was traveling with FC Dallas. The two instituted the scholarship.

The T.B. Butler Award, given annually by the Tyler Morning Telegraph to JT’s most outstanding football player, went to senior DeVonte Haggerty. In two seasons, Haggerty helped JT win 23 games, totaling 23 touchdowns during the process while playing multiple positions.

Three different sports warranted special recognition with banners: the boys and girls basketball squads, along with boys soccer.

The JT boys soccer team won the program’s first district title in 16 years, advancing to the sectional round under head coach Howard Story.

The JT boys basketball team won the district championship and finished the season with 24 wins and a bi-district title.

The JT girls basketball also chalked up 24 victories and captured a bi-district trophy.


John Tyler Sports Banquet

At St. Louis Family Life Center

Special Awards

Lawrence LaCroix Memorial Award — Abner Barrera

T.B. Butler Award — DeVonte Haggerty

Daniel and Nico Hernandez Soccer Achievement Grant — Andrea Araiza, Abner Barrera

Most Valuable Performers


Baseball — Jawun Hart; Basketball — Tyus Bowser; Cross Country — Abner Barrera; Soccer — Abner Barrera; Track and Field — D’Carlton Grant and Demonte Holloway.


Basketball — LaTifah Rainey; Cross Country — Liliana Macedo; Softball — Antranette Lee; Track and Field — Christina Lampkin; Volleyball — Jennifer McGowen.

Recommended for you

Load comments