RICHARDSON — UT Tyler junior relief pitcher Derek Miller was named the American Southwest Conference East Division Newcomer of the Year.

Miller, a right-hander from Robert E. Lee High School and Tyler Junior College, was 2-2 on the mound for the Patriots and had an ASC-leading nine saves.

Patriots starting pitcher Michael Blevins was named Co-Freshman of the Year, along with UT Dallas catcher Micah Easterling.

Including Miller, UT Tyler placed seven players on the first team. They were: junior first baseman Issac Tijerina, senior shortstop Aaron McCain, senior catcher Hayden Chick, senior outfielder David Ring, junior utility T.J. Martin and sophomore starting pitcher Jack Barkley.

Martin also earned a spot on the second team at third base.

UT Tyler freshman designated hitter Garrett Machacek earned honorable mention recognition.

UT Dallas senior outfielder Chase Brown was named East Division Player of the Year, while UT Dallas senior starting pitcher Marvin Prestridge was voted the division’s Pitcher of the Year.

Mississippi College senior outfielder J’Marcus Brooks was rewarded as the division’s Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year, while UT Dallas was honored as the Coaching Staff of the Year.


All-American Southwest Conference

East Division

Player of the Year — Chase Brown, OF, Sr., UT Dallas

Pitcher of the Year — Marvin Prestridge, RHP, Sr., UT Dallas

Newcomer of the Year — Derek Miller, RHP, Jr., UT Tyler

Co-Freshmen of the Year — Michael Blevins, RHP, UT Tyler; Micah Easterling, C, UT Dallas

Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year — J’Marcus Brooks, OF, Sr., Mississippi College

Coaching Staff of the Year — UT Dallas (Shane Shewmake, Kyle Starnes, Terry Tuck, Bart Alfred)


First Base — Issac Tijerina, Jr., UT Tyler (San Antonio/Texas Luthernan)

Second Base — Mike Kerdock, Sr., Mississippi College (Greenbelt, Md./NW Shoals CC)

Shortstop — Aaron McCain, Sr., UT Tyler (Royse City/Dallas Christian HS)

Third Base — Nate Tomaszewski, Sr., LeTourneau (Dove Canyon, Calif./Tesoro HS)

Catcher — Hayden Chick, Sr., UT Tyler (Waco/Midway HS)

Outfielders — Chase Brown, Sr., UT Dallas (Arlington/Blinn College); David Ring, Sr., UT Tyler (San Diego/Palomar JC); J’Marcus Brooks, Sr., Mississippi College (Columbus, Miss. HS)

Designated Hitter — Chris Bertram, So., LeTourneau (Friendswood/Baytown Christian HS)

Utility — T.J. Martin, Jr., UT Tyler (Plano/Bishop Lynch HS)

Starting Pitchers — Marvin Prestridge, Sr., UT Dallas (Forney HS); Jack Barkley, So., UT Tyler (Athens HS); Derek Dallas, Jr., UT Dallas (Ballinger/Cisco JC)

Relief Pitchers — Max Willard, Sr., UT Dallas (Dallas/Garland Christian HS); Derek Miller, Jr., UT Tyler (Flint/Tyler JC)


First Base — Kyle Guest, Sr., UT Dallas (Houston/Spring Branch HS); Brett Hightower, Jr., Mississippi College (Hurst/UT Tyler)

Second Base — Zak Anderson, Jr., UT Dallas (Heath/Tyler JC); Nick Brill, Jr., Ozarks (Siloam Springs, Ark. HS)

Shortstop — Jacob Starnes, Sr., UT Dallas (Sugar Land/Fort Bend Baptist HS)

Third Base — T.J. Martin, Jr., UT Tyler (Plano/Bishop Lynch HS)

Catcher — Cayden Cunniff, Jr., East Texas Baptist (Joshua HS)

Outfielders — Jake Wyand, So., UT Dallas (Dallas Jesuit HS); Chris Driedric, Sr., Ozarks (Little Rock, Ark. Catholic HS); Tristen Cooksey, Sr., East Texas Baptist (Elm Grove, La./Bossier Parish CC)

Designated Hitter — Kaleb Robinson, Fr., UT Dallas (Okinawa, Japan/West Texas A&M)

Utility — Cole Prejean, So., Louisiana College (Brusly, La. HS)

Starting Pitchers — Ryan Glover, Sr., Mississippi College (Oneonta, Ala./Snead State CC); Ryan Whitehead, Fr., LeTourneau (Silsbee HS); Jason Fink, So., UT Dallas (Houston Cy Creek HS); Pete Fitzsimmons, Sr., East Texas Baptist (Toms River, N.J./Brookhaven CC)

Relief Pitchers — Kirby Cantalamessa, Jr., LeTourneau (Pearland/Home School); Korey Kottenbrook, Jr., Louisiana College (Springhill, La./LSU—Shreveport)


First Base — Buddy Elmore, Sr., East Texas Baptist (Dallas/Georgia State)

Second Base — Chris Abascal, So., East Texas Baptist (El Paso/University of the Southwest)

Shortstop — Jordan Marks, Sr., Louisiana College (Alexandria, La./LSU—Alexandria); Mitchell Powers, Jr., Ozarks (North Little Rock, Ark./CAC)

Third Base — Cary Myers, Fr., Louisiana College (Zachary, La. HS)

Catcher — Micah Easterling, Fr., UT Dallas (Denton/Ponder HS)

Designated Hitter — Garrett Machacek, Fr., UT Tyler (Cypress/Cy Fair HS); Matt Scott, So., Louisiana College (Pineville, La. HS)

Starting Pitcher — Justin Reed, Sr., Louisiana College (Kinder, La. HS)

Relief Pitcher — Ian Bryan, Jr., Ozarks (North Little Rock, Ark./CAC)

Recommended for you