Senior outfielder Tristian Neal, who led Texas College in slugging, represented the Steers on the All-Red River Athletic Conference baseball team.

Neal, a Troup product, batted .368 on the season with 10 doubles and four triples.

The Steers were eliminated in the third round of the postseason tournament after a second-place finish in the regular season.

Top-ranked LSU-Shreveport, which won the regular season title and defeated Bacone in the championship game on Tuesday, dominated the team. Both superlatives went to LSUS players: Kyle Pearson for Player of the Year and Jared Mortenson for Pitcher of the Year.

LSUS, the nation’s top-ranked team, claimed seven of the 16 first-team spots.

Two Steers made the second team: senior catcher Blaine Shackelford and junior pitcher Aldo Montoya.

Shackelford, a Quitman native, hit .320 on the season and threw out 10 base runners from the backstop.

Montoya, who hails from Los Angeles, won six games. Montoya appeared in 16 games, compiling a team-high 80 2-3 innings with a 4.13 ERA and 47 strikeouts.

The Steers, who finished 27-24-1, could return most of their regular season runner-up squad next year, with 24 players on the final roster eligible for another season.


All-Red River Athletic Conference Baseball Team

Player of the Year — Kyle Pearson, LSU-Shreveport

Pitcher of the Year — Jared Mortenson, LSU-Shreveport

First Team

1B — Greg Friesen, LSU-Shreveport, Jr., Regina, Sask.

2B — Stephen Hobbins. LSU-Shreveport, Sr., Alamogordo, N.M.

3B — Devin Greco, LSU-Shreveport, Jr., Honolulu, Hawaii

SS — Joshua Cappello, Southwest, Jr., Rio Rancho, N.M.

C — Adam Humes, Northwood, Jr., Plano

C — Alex Padilla, Texas Wesleyan, Jr., Long Beach, Calif.

OF — Ridge Gonsoulin, LSU-Shreveport,So., New Iberia, La.

OF — Peter Maldonado, UT Brownsville, Sr., Harlingen

OF — Tristian Neal, Texas College, Sr., Troup

OF —Kyle Pearson, LSU-Shreveport, Jr., Stonewall

DH — Colby Henscey, UT Brownsville, Sr., Mont Belvieu

UT — Jose Serna, Texas College, Jr., Los Angeles, Calif.

SP — Nolan Barbee, Texas Wesleyan, Jr., Dallas

SP — Matt Lackie, LSU-Shreveport, Sr., McKinney

SP — Jared Mortenson, LSU-Shreveport, Sr., Abbotsford, B.C.

RP — Derek Vaughn, Texas Wesleyan, Jr., Edmond, Okla.

Second Team

1B — Justin Barnes, Texas Wesleyan, Sr., Yukon, Okla.

2B — Edwin Arroyo, Northwood, Sr., Trujillo Alto, P.R.

3B — Ysidoro Reyna, Southwest, Jr., Lubbock

SS — Manny Estrada, LSU-Shreveport, New Orleans, La.

C — David Dorton, LSU-Shreveport, So., Alamogord, N.M.

C — Blaine Shackelford, Texas College, Sr., Quitman

OF — Austin Atwell, Northwood, Sr., Wylie

OF — Kade Billeaudeaux, LSU-Shreveport, Sr., Welsh, La.

OF — Zach Cordia, UT Brownsville, So., Conroe

OF — Anthony Seabolt, Bacone, Jr., Tulsa, Okla.

DH — Mario Mendoza, SW Assemblies of God, Sr., Fort Worth

UT — Kym Barthel, LSU-Shreveport, Fr., Lethbridge, Alb.

SP — Aldo Montoya, Texas College, Jr., Los Angeles

SP — Teddy Nowell, Northwood, Sr., Mesquite

SP — Adam Vera, UT Brownsville, Jr., Brownsville

SP — Dillon Wilson, Texas Wesleyan, Sr., Verden, Okla.

RP — Clinton Graham, Southwest, Fr., Alamogordo, N.M.

All-Glove Team

1B — Justin Barnes, Texas Wesleyan, Sr., Yukon, Okla.

2B — Edwin Arroyo, Northwood, Sr., Trujilo Alto, P.R.

3B — Ysidoro Reyna, Southwest, Sr., Lubbock

SS — Joshua Cappell, Southwest, Sr., Rio Rancho, N.M.

C — Lester Gonzales, Bacone, Sr., Miami, Fla.

OF — Austin Atwell, Northwood, Sr., Wylie

OF — Jake Howeth, Texas Wesleyan, Sr., Dallas

OF — Kyle Pearson, LSU-Shreveport, Jr., Stonewall

P — Adam Vera, UT Brownsville, Jr., Brownsville

Recommended for you

Load comments