The eyes of the college football world will shift from New Orleans to the Rose City on Wednesday as the Seventh Annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award presentation is scheduled.

The finalists are Charlie Brewer, junior quarterback, Baylor, Austin (Lake Travis HS); Shane Buechele, junior quarterback, SMU, Arlington (Lamar HS); J.K. Dobbins, junior running back, Ohio State, La Grange (La Grange HS); Jalen Hurts, senior quarterback, Oklahoma, Houston (Channelview HS); and CeeDee Lamb, junior wide receiver, Oklahoma, Richmond (Foster HS).

The finalists were selected by a nationwide vote of media representatives and the Campbell family.

Last year’s winner was Oklahoma quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray, who became the No. 1 draft pick of the Arizona Cardinals. It was the second straight time an OU QB and Heisman Trophy winner won the ECTR winner. The previous year’s winner was Baker Mayfield.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college.

The banquet is set for 7 p.m. Wednesday at Willow Brook Country Club.

Ron Franklin, former voice of the Texas Longhorns and Houston Oilers, is the emcee. He also broadcasts football and basketball at ESPN.

Previous Earl Campbell Tyler Rose winners include: 2013 — Bryce Petty, Baylor, junior quarterback, Midlothian (Midlothian HS); 2014 — Trevone Boykin, junior quarterback, TCU, Dallas (West Mesquite HS); 2015 — Greg Ward Jr., Houston, junior quarterback, Tyler (John Tyler HS); 2016 — D’Onta Foreman, Texas, junior running back, Texas City (Texas City HS); 2017 — Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, senior quarterback, Austin (Lake Travis HS); and 2018 — Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, junior quarterback, Allen (Allen HS).

The award sponsors include: City of Tyler, BMW of Tyler, Brookshire Grocery Company, Christus Trinity Mother Frances Health System, Clements Fluids Management, LLC, Patterson Commercial Property Group, R.W. Fair Foundation, Southside Bank, TDI Air Conditioning/James and Sharon Wynne, Chesley and Ted W. Walters, Austin Bank, Prothro, Wilhelmi & Co., Tyler Morning Telegraph, American State Bank, Texas Bank and Trust, Tyler Junior College, and The University of Texas at Tyler.


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments