NJCAA National Women's Tennis Tournament is under way


After the first day, Broward (Fla.) College and Temple College of Texas are in the lead at the NJCAA Division I Women’s National Tennis Tournament.

The Seahawks and Leopards both scored 14 points as the matches began at the JoAnn Medlock Murphy Tennis Center and the Louise Brookshire Family Tennis Center on the Tyler Junior College campus.

Tied for third with 12 points are Collin College of Plano, New Mexico Military Institute and St. Petersburg (Fla.).

However, many seeded players for several of the expected title contenders including two-time defending champion and No. 1 ranked Tyler Junior College, No. 2 State College of Florida and No. 5 Cowley County (Kan.) Community College did not see action on the inaugural day of action.

That will change today as all players will see court time, including No. 1 Diana Davitaia of Cowley and No. 2 Kerrie Cartwright of Tyler in Flight 1 singles.

First matches are scheduled for 8 a.m. There is no admission charge to the tourney.

Davitaia is scheduled to meet Salma Dahbi of Georgia Perimeter, while Cartwright will face Justyna Wojcik of Broward.

The only TJC player to take the court on Sunday was No. 5 seed Audrey Leitz, who won over Charmaine Bessent of USC Lancaster (S.C.), 6-1, 6-1, in Flight 2 singles. She will now face Lauren Renner of Temple at 8 a.m. today. Renner won over Jessica Ring of College of Lake County (Ill.), 6-0, 6-0.

A total of 29 teams are competing with the schools from Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Georgia, New York, Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Arizona and South Carolina attending.

It is a flighted tournament with a consolation draw (first match losers) in all divisions. The scoring in the main draw includes: the first round will be worth two points; a “bye” followed by a win is worth three points. Each additional win will be worth one point in the main draw. In the consolation draw, a win following a bye will be worth one point and a half point will be awarded thereafter.

SMOKE SIGNALS: The Murphy Tennis Center is located at 1030 S. Palmer Avenue on the TJC campus. The Brookshire courts are adjacent to the Murphy Center. … The men’s tournament is May 14-18 at Collin College in Plano. … The tournament draws can be found on apacheathetics.com.

Recommended for you

Load comments