The all-District 11-5A baseball team was recently released with Robert E. Lee receiving two first-team nods and five second-team honorees.

Lee senior shortstop Douglas Kinsey was the sparkplug for the Red Raiders offense out of the leadoff position while also finishing with a solid fielding percentage. He made the first team along with junior pitcher Zach Flanagan, who had two complete games in district play, and junior outfielder Trace Reed.

Receiving second-team consideration from Lee were pitchers Daniel Bogue and Daniel Derfus, senior catcher Travis Miller, junior outfielder Blake Korthauer and junior utility Blake Hamblett.

District champion Mesquite dominated the superlative awards with sophomore Daniel Ferra chosen Co-Most Valuable player, along with North Mesquite’s Matt Werry. The Skeeters also sported the Offensive Player of the Year with junior Carlos Chavez receiving the accolade.

Mesquite Horn’s Brian Obannon was chosen Newcomer of the Year with Longview junior Spencer Barton chosen defensive player of the year.


All-District 11-5A

Baseball Team

Co-Most Valuable Players — Daniel Ferra, Soph., Mesquite; Matt Werry, Sr., North Mesquite

Newcomer of the Year — Brian Obannon, Jr., Mesquite Horn

Offensive Player of the Year — Carlos Chavez, Jr., Mesquite

Defensive Player of the Year — Spencer Barton, Jr., Longview

First Team

Pitchers — Steven Rosser, Sr., North Mesquite; Alex Lopez, Sr., Mesquite; Zach Flanagan, Jr., Robert E. Lee; Jared Davidson, Sr., Mesquite Horn

Catcher — Julian Rios, Soph., Mesquite

First Base — Cullen Roach, Sr., Longview; Ivan Santoyo, Jr., North Mesquite

Second Base — Logan Trent, Sr., Mesquite Horn

Shortstop — Douglas Kinsey, Sr., Robert E. Lee

Third Base — Tommy Willard, Jr., Mesquite Horn; Drue Eldred, Sr., North Mesquite

Outfielders — Thomas Oberg, Jr., North Mesquite; Chris Tyra, Sr., Mesquite; Alec Bradshaw, Jr., Longview; Trace Reed, Jr., Robert E. Lee.

Designated Hitter — Hunter Benavidez, Jr., North Mesquite

Utility — Jordan Brasuell, Jr., Mesquite Horn

Second Team

Pitcher — Jermaine Hamilton, Sr., DeSoto; Dennis Harper, Jr., North Mesquite; Daniel Bogue, Fr., Robert E. Lee; Daniel Derfus, Sr., Robert E. Lee.

Catcher — Travis Miller, Sr., Robert E. Lee

First Base — Trent Singleton, Jr., Mesquite Horn

Second Base — Bobby Albiar, Soph., North Mesquite

Shortstop — Mason Jordan Soph., Mesquite Horn

Third Base — Reid Russell, Jr., Longview

Outfielders — Lucas Rowan, Jr., Mesquite; Blake Korthauer, Jr., Robert E. Lee; Jared Paulley, Soph., Longview; Learis Jones, Jr., DeSoto.

Designated Hitter — Rodney Jackson, Soph., Mesquite

Utility — Blake Hamblett, Jr., Robert E. Lee

Honorable Mention

(Lee Only) — Tanner Bandel, Jr., OF; Chad Payne, Jr., 1B; Ross Himes, Jr., 2B; Matthew Solomon, Sr., DH; Travis Yanker, Sr., P.

Recommended for you

Load comments