For the second straight year, more than $200,000 was raised for scholarships as a result of the 29th annual Tyler Junior College Foundation Golf Tournament, Barbara King, TJC’s director of major gifts and special initiatives, said on Thursday at Hollytree Country Club.

Also, for the fourth consecutive year Azalea Orthopedics was the title sponsor of the event.

Twenty-eight teams participated in the tournament with the squad of Darin Newhouse, Blake Armstrong, Gavin Rasco, Mike Custer, Jeff Skrocki and Jay Misenheimer capturing first place with a score of 21-under 51.

Sixty-four scholarship recipients were introduced at the luncheon and were present on the course to greet golfers. The students benefitted from last year’s tourney. Each student received a $1,000 scholarship.

Four students were presented $5,000 corporate scholarships. They were Garren Morris of Tyler (major: associate degree nursing) from Delek Refining, LTD.; Krescenda Bircher of Tyler (major: biology) from Express Employment Professionals; Jacob Moore of Lindale (major: geology) from HGR General Contractors; and Kelsi Pate of Jacksonville (major: pre-nursing) from Neighbors Emergency Center.

Receiving their $2,500 scholarship from 2015 were Fernando Rios of Tyler (major nursing LVN-ADN transition) from Express Employment and Stephanie Gonzalez of Tyler (major: biology) from Delek.

Gavin Downing of Lindale (major: biology), a second-year scholarship recipient, gave the invocation.

Abbi Wright Splawn, of Whitehouse, gave a testimonial of how the scholarships helped her achieve her goals. With the help of the scholarship she was able to graduate from TJC and continue her education at the University of Louisiana at Monroe where she graduated cum laude in 2014, earning her Doctor of Pharmacy. She is now a practicing pharmacist in Overton.

Scholarship recipients were from Tyler, Lindale, Quitman, Mineola, Whitehouse, Jacksonville, Bullard, Winona, Flint, Grand Saline, Rusk, Ben Wheeler, Troup, Hawkins, Alba and Canton.

Claude Henry served as the tournament chair. Other members of the advisory committee were Gary Ables, Loren Bennett, Lee Browning, Charles Hill, Dr. Paul Latta, Brian McCabe, Darin Newhouse, Tome Seale, Eleanor Stringer, Stan Surratt, Brenda Thomas and Bruce Thomson.

The lunch sponsor was Louis and Peaches Owens Family Foundation.

The TJC band and drum line welcomed the golfers as well as the Apache Belles.

Ables-Land Inc. sponsored the raffle for suite at a Texas Rangers game. More than $4,000 was raised through the raffle.

Azalea Orthopedics Scholarship Golf Tournament

Benefiting the TJC Foundation

Hollytree Country Club

1, Darin Newhouse, Blake Armstrong, Gavin Rasco, Mike Custer, Jeff Skrocki, Jay Misenheimer, 21-under 51; 2, Shannon Strickland, Tom Bergeron, Buddy Ogletree, Brian Robinson, Bill Tankersley, Jason Yearty, 20-under 52; 3, Cavender, Baldwin, Miller, Cannon, McIntyre, Martin, 18-under 54.

Closest to the Hole - No. 6: Will Parks; No. 8: Mike Tidwell; No. 13: Larry Mendez.

Long Drive - No. 16: Steve Hill.

Longest Putt - Ryan Cannon.

Recommended for you

Load comments