Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

ELEVEN Semifinalists were

announced Thursday for the seventh

annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

There are so many talented football players with ties to the great state of Texas that it is difficult to narrow the list to a select few.

But the 49-member selection committee did just that as 11 semifinalists, including Daingerfield’s Denzel Mims, have been unveiled for the seventh annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, Cindy Smoak, SPORTyler executive director, announced Thursday.

This year’s candidates include five quarterbacks, four wide receivers and two running backs. Four different conferences are represented.

The 2019 semifinalists are:

Charlie Brewer,

  • quarterback, Baylor, Jr. — Austin (Lake Travis HS), Big 12;

Shane Buechele,

  • quarterback, SMU, Jr. — Arlington (Lamar HS), American Athletic;

J.K. Dobbins,

  • running back, Ohio State, Junior — LaGrange (LaGrange HS), Big Ten;

Devin Duvernay,

  • wide receiver, Texas, Sr. — Sachse, (Sachse HS), Big 12;

Sam Ehlinger,

  • quarterback, Texas, Jr. — Austin (Westlake HS), Big 12;

Jalen Hurts,

  • quarterback, Oklahoma, Sr. — Channelview (Channelview HS), Big 12;

Xavier Jones,

  • running back, SMU, Sr. — Spring (Spring HS), American Athletic;

CeeDee Lamb,

  • wide receiver, Oklahoma, Jr. — Richmond (Foster HS), Big 12;

Denzel Mims,

  • wide receiver, Baylor, Sr. — Daingerfield (Daingerfield HS), Big 12;

James Proche,

  • wide receiver, SMU, Sr. — Dallas (DeSoto HS), American Athletic;

Kyle Trask,

  • quarterback, Florida, Junior — Manvel (Manvel HS), Southeastern.

Finalists will be selected from this group and announced Dec. 17.

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler on Jan. 15, 2020. All finalists will be invited to the event and the emcee is Ron Franklin, legendary sports commentator, former voice of ESPN College Football and the Houston Oilers.

The award sponsors include: city of Tyler, Azalea Orthopedics, BMW of Tyler, Brookshire’s, Christus Trinity Mother Frances Health System, Clements Fluids Management LLC, Patterson Commercial Property Group, R.W. Fair Foundation, Southside Bank, TDI Air Conditioning/James & Sharon Wynne, Chesley and Ted W. Walters, Austin Bank, Prothro, Wilhelmi & Co., American State Bank, Tyler Junior College and The University of Texas at Tyler.

Fan Vote for the semifinalists round begins Friday, Nov. 22. Visit www.earlcampbellaward.com and vote once daily for your favorite.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year D1 Texas college.

Previous finalists and winners are listed below:

2013 Finalists

{span}Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, tight end, junior {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} San Antonio (MacArthur HS){/span}

{span}Mike Evans, Texas A&M, wide receiver, sophomore {span}—{/span} Galveston (Ball HS){/span}

{span}James Franklin, Missouri, quarterback, senior {span}—{/span} Corinth (Lake Dallas, HS){/span}

{span}Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, quarterback, sophomore {span}—{/span} Kerrville (Tivy HS){/span}

{span}Bryce Petty, Baylor, quarterback, junior – Midlothian, (Midlothian HS){/span}

2014 Finalists

{span}Jay Ajayi, running back, Boise State, junior {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} Plano (Frisco Liberty HS){/span}

{span}J. T. Barrett, quarterback, Ohio State, red-shirt freshman {span}—{/span} Wichita Falls (Rider HS){/span}

{span}Trevone Boykin, quarterback, TCU, junior {span}—{/span} Dallas (West Mesquite HS){/span}

{span}Samaje Perine, running back, Oklahoma, freshman {span}—{/span} Pflugerville (Hendrickson HS){/span}

{span}Bryce Petty, quarterback, Baylor, senior {span}—{/span} Midlothian (Midlothian HS){/span}

2015 Finalists

{span}Trevone Boykin, TCU, quarterback, senior {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} Dallas (West Mesquite HS){/span}

{span}Corey Coleman, Baylor, wide receiver, junior {span}—{/span} Richardson (Pearce HS){/span}

Josh Doctson, TCU, wide receiver, senior — Mansfield (Legacy HS)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, quarterback, junior — Austin (Lake Travis HS)

  • Greg Ward Jr., Houston, quarterback, junior — Tyler (John Tyler HS)

2016 Finalists

{span}D’Onta Foreman, Texas, running back, junior {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} Texas City (Texas City HS){/span}

{span}Jalen Hurts, Alabama, quarterback, freshman {span}—{/span} Channelview (Channelview HS){/span}

{span}Patrick Mahomes II, Texas Tech, quarterback, junior {span}—{/span} Whitehouse (Whitehouse HS){/span}

{span}Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, quarterback, junior {span}—{/span} Austin (Lake Travis HS){/span}

Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma, wide receiver, senior — Cameron (Cameron Yoe HS)

2017 Finalists

{span}J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, quarterback, graduate {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} Wichita Falls (Rider HS){/span}

{span}Ronald Jones II, Southern California, running back, junior {/span}{span}—{/span}{span} McKinney (McKinney North HS){/span}

{span}Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, quarterback, senior {span}—{/span} Austin (Lake Travis HS){/span}

{span}Jarrett Stidham, Auburn, quarterback, sophomore {span}—{/span} Stephenville (Stephenville HS){/span}

{span}James Washington, Oklahoma State, wide receiver, senior {span}—{/span} Stamford (Stamford HS){/span}

2018 Finalists

Eno Benjamin, Arizona State, running back, sophomore — Wylie (Wylie East HS)

D’Eriq King, Houston, quarterback, junior — Manvel (Manvel HS)

Greg Little, Mississippi, offensive lineman, junior — Allen (Allen HS)

  • Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, quarterback, junior — Allen (Allen HS)

Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State, wide receiver, sophomore — Fort Worth (South Hills HS)

Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M, running back, junior — Houston (C.E. King HS)

  • Denotes winner


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments