Robert E. Lee senior Case Carnes put the ball into the back of the net and junior Daniel Abarca kept opponents off the scoreboard.

Together, the two Red Raiders helped REL finish the second half of district with three straight wins to clinch a playoff spot. The rest of the league took notice and chose Carnes as Midfielder of the Year and goalkeeper Abarca as Newcomer of the Year on the All-District 12-5A boys soccer team.

Carnes finished as Lee’s top goal scorer with his last one of the regular season, an overtime strike, pushing the Red Raiders into the playoffs on the final day of the regular season.

Abarca was 2 for 2 in winning penalty shootouts in district and was a constant hindrance for opposing teams.

The Red Raiders’ seniors Chandler Harrison and Erick Vargas and junior Eric Munoz were chosen for the all-district first team. Named all-district second team were seniors Brett Howlett and Graham Thompson and junior Collin Berry.

Lee senior Carlos Zavala, junior Will Arnold and sophomore Daniel Schulze were honorable mentions.

Rockwall, the district champion, received the most players on the first team. Senior Clay Rittershaus was chosen District MVP with Rockwall coach Troy Williams named Coach of the Year. Longview senior Leo Perez was Offensive MVP with Mesquite Horn sophomore Armando Cassias named Defensive MVP. North Mesquite’s Luis Reyes was Goalkeeper of the Year.


District 12-5A Boys Soccer All-District Team

District MVP — Clay Rittershaus, Sr., Rockwall

Offensive MVP — Leo Perez, Sr., Longview

Midfielder of the Year — Case Carnes, Sr., Robert E. Lee

Defensive MVP — Armando Cassias, Soph., Mesquite Horn

Goalkeeper of the Year — Luis Reyes, Jr., North Mesquite

Newcomer of the Year — Daniel Abarca, Jr., GK, Robert E. Lee

Coach of the Year — Troy Williams, Rockwall

First Team

Rockwall — Andrew Caquelin, Jr., GK; Chris Poncinie, Sr., D; Micah Day, Sr., F; Ryan Denahy, Sr., F; Colt Ramsey, Sr., MF. Mequite Horn — Carlos Olortegui, Sr., F; Erik Macias, Jr, MF; Osvoldo Veloz, Jr., D. Anthony Tharp, Sr., GK. Robert E. Lee — Eric Munoz, Jr., MF; Chandler Harrison, Sr., D; Erick Vargas, Sr., D. North Mesquite—Oscar Ocampo, Sr., F; Juan Gonzalez, Jr., F; Abraham Vasquez, Jr., F. Longview—Alan Flores, Sr., D; Alex Rios, Sr., D. Rockwall-Heath—Daniel Anquiano, Fr., MF; Thomas Ross, Jr., MF. Mesquite—Richard Anyaegbu, Jr., F.

Second Team

Rockwall — KC Nklari, Sr. GK; Dillon Loftis, Jr., D; Cooper Feste, Sr., D; Michael Dawe, Sr., D. Mesquite Horn — Taylor Lewis, Sr., F; Donnie Dunsworth, Sr., F; Aric Lopez, Sr., F. Robert E. Lee — Collin Berry, Jr., F; Brett Howlett, Sr., MF; Graham Thompson, Sr., MF. North Mesquite — Brandon Davis, Soph., MF; Roberto Gonzalez, Soph., MF. Longview — Jose Corona, Sr., MF; Braylen Hollins, Jr., D. Rockwall-Heath—Corey Gray, Sr., GK; Guillermo Flores, Sr., F. Mesquite — Eddie Sanchez, Fr., F.

Lee Honorable Mention — Carlos Zavala, Sr., MF; Will Arnold, Jr., D; Daniel Schulze, Soph., MF.


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed