UT Tyler professor Dr. Sandra Petersen named American Academy of Nurse Practitioners fellow


UT Tyler Communications

Dr. Sandra Petersen has been named a fellow by the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, Dr. Yong “Tai” Wang, The University of Texas at Tyler College of Nursing and Health Sciences dean, announced.

A UT Tyler alumna, Petersen is an associate professor within the UT Tyler School of Nursing’s family nurse practitioner program, and she also directs the university’s newly created doctorate in nursing practice program. She has served UT Tyler since 2012.

AANP Fellows are selected based on superior contributions to clinical practice, research, education or policy. An induction ceremony will be held next month.

“Dr. Petersen is well deserving of this very prestigious honor,” said Dr. Barbara Haas, associate dean and School of Nursing interim executive director. “It is a tribute to her outstanding contributions as an advanced practice nurse specializing in geriatrics and mental health. It also confirms what we at UT Tyler have known for a long time - Dr. Petersen is exceptional.”

During the past two decades, Petersen established clinical compliance programs that have changed the way in which senior care is viewed and administered at the many assisted living communities, memory care communities, long-term care communities, hospitals and hospice/homecare companies who have sought her services and expertise.

She recently received a grant from the Baylor Deerbrook Charitable Trust to conduct research in the assisted living memory care setting with robotic pets. In this study, she is examining the utilization of the robots in residents with dementia and other related disorders.

Petersen also received an AANP grant for the creation of an online continuing education module for assessment and management of pain in cognitively impaired elderly.

In addition, the UT Tyler Faculty Learning Committee awarded Petersen the 2012 “Technology and Innovations Award” for creative use of technology within virtual learning environments. The Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing also bestowed her with the 2013-14 “Excellence in Nursing Practice” honor.


Recent Stories You Might Have Missed