New Tyler ISD Logo Square

The Tyler Independent School District Board of Trustees has been selected as the regional nominee for the 2019 Texas Association of School Administrators School Board Awards.

Tyler ISD was selected as the nominee for Region 7, which covers most of East Texas. District Superintendent Marty Crawford nominated the board.

“They are a professional group, able to consider what it will take for successful student outcomes and community success while putting aside individual preferences, all in the name of defeating tradition and reputation, rewriting the Tyler ISD story as incredible,” Crawford wrote in his nomination, according to the Region 7 Education Service Center.

Up to five of the boards nominated across the state will be selected as Honor Boards and from those finalists two will be selected as TASA’s Outstanding School Board of the Year in September.

The two winners will be categorized by districts with fewer than 1,000 students and districts with more than 1,000 students.

Other boards nominated include:

Region 1 — Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees, Art Cavazos, nominating superintendent

Region 2 (large district) — Beeville ISD Board of Trustees, Marc Puig, nominating superintendent

Region 2 (small district) — Premont ISD Board of Trustees, Steve VanMatre, nominating superintendent

Region 4 — Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees, DeeAnn Powell, nominating superintendent

Region 5 — Bridge City ISD Board of Trustees, Todd Lintzen, nominating superintendent

Region 10 — Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees, JJ Villarreal, nominating superintendent

Region 11 — Denton ISD Board of Trustees, Jamie Wilson, nominating superintendent

Region 12 — Copperas Cove ISD Board of Trustees, Joe Burns, nominating superintendent

Region 13 — Giddings ISD Board of Trustees, Roger Dees, nominating superintendent

Region 16 — Canyon ISD Board of Trustees, Darryl Flusche, nominating superintendent

Region 17 — Frenship ISD Board of Trustees, Michelle McCord, nominating superintendent

Region 20 — Boerne ISD Board of Trustees, Thomas Price, nominating superintendent

Recommended for you

Load comments