In this age of offensive fireworks, it can be difficult to narrow down the top Texans in college football.

But The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award selection committee did just that in naming the Sweet 16 semifinalists for the third annual award. Included on the list is the 2014 winner Trevone Boykin of TCU and two local products - Tyler’s Greg Ward Jr. (University of Houston) and Whitehouse’s Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech University).

Cindy Smoak, vice president of SPORTyler, made the announcement on Monday.

She added, this year’s candidates include five quarterbacks, five running backs and six wide receivers. Five conferences are represented - American Athletic, Big Ten, Big 12, Southeastern and Sun Belt.

The 2015 Semifinalists are:

J. T. Barrett, Ohio State, quarterback, sophomore - Wichita Falls (Rider High School)

Trevone Boykin, TCU, quarterback, senior - Dallas (West Mesquite HS)

Corey Coleman, Baylor, wide receiver, junior - Richardson (Pearce HS)

Josh Doctson, TCU, wide receiver, senior - Mansfield (Legacy HS)

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa, wide receiver, senior - Daingerfield (Daingerfield HS)

Jakeem Grant, Texas Tech, wide receiver, senior - Mesquite (Mesquite Horn HS)

Aaron Green, TCU, tailback, senior - San Antonio (Madison HS)

Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, wide receiver, freshman - Scottsdale, Arizona (Saguaro HS)

Shock Linwood, Baylor, running back, junior - Linden (Linden-Kildare HS)

Patrick Mahomes II, Texas Tech, quarterback, sophomore - Whitehouse (Whitehouse HS)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, quarterback, junior – Austin (Lake Travis HS)

Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, running back, sophomore - Pflugerville (Hendrickson HS)

Larry Rose, III, New Mexico State, running back, sophomore – Fairfield (Fairfield HS)

Greg Ward Jr., Houston, quarterback, junior - Tyler (John Tyler HS)

DeAndre Washington, Texas Tech, running back, senior - Missouri City (Thurgood Marshall HS)

James Washington, Oklahoma State, wide receiver, sophomore - Stamford, (Stamford HS)

Finalists will be selected from this group and announced on Dec. 7.

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler on Jan. 13.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define 1977 Heisman Trophy winner Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, tenacity and community; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas high school and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year DI Texas college.

For more information and to vote on the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, go to Fans may vote once daily.

Award sponsors include: City of Tyler, Brookshire’s Grocery Co., Clements Fluids Management, Kitchens Unique, R.W. Fair Foundation, TDI Air Conditioning/James & Sharon Wynne, Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Chesley and Ted W. Walters, Austin Bank, Azalea Orthopedics, Southside Bank, Suddenlink, Texas Spine and Joint Hospital, Hibbs, Hallmark & Company, Prothro, Wilhelmi & Co., Tyler Junior College and The University of Texas at Tyler.


Sports Editor

I am a native Tylerite and I grew up reading the Tyler Morning Telegraph and The Tyler Courier-Times. My parents took both the morning and afternoon papers. I came to work here 35 years ago at the age of 23, right after college.

Recommended for you

Load comments