U.S. Rep. Louie Gohmert, R-Tyler, has won an eighth term in the U.S. House of Representatives. 

Gohmert defeated Democrat Shirley McKellar for the fourth time. The Associated Press called the race in Gohmert's favor early Tuesday night.

At 8:52 p.m. with 13 percent of precincts reported, Gohmert had 120,649 votes, or 73 percent, and McKellar had 42,593 votes, or 25.8 percent, according to the Texas secretary of state. Libertarian candidate Jeff Callaway had 2,014 votes, or 1.2 percent. 

Texas Congressional District 1 encompasses more than 12 counties in East Texas and includes the cities of Tyler, Longview, Marshall, Nacogdoches and Lufkin. The district’s eastern boundary runs about 120 miles down the Texas border with Louisiana.

Gohmert, a Republican, was first elected to the seat in 2004. He defeated state Rep. Wayne Christian of Center in the Republican primary that year, and ousted incumbent Democratic Congressman Max Sandlin in the 2004 general election. Since then, Gohmert has consistently won the seat with large majorities.

This was the fourth time that McKellar, a Democrat, has unsuccessfully challenged Gohmert for his seat. She previously ran for the seat in 2012, 2014 and 2016. In a competitive 2018 Democratic primary, she defeated UT Tyler professor Brent Beal in order to face Gohmert on Tuesday.

Gohmert sits on the Natural Resources Committee and the Judiciary Committee in the U.S. House of Representatives.

TWITTER and INSTAGRAM: @_erinmansfield

Government Reporter

Erin came to Tyler from Vermont, where she worked for VTDigger.org and previously the Rutland Herald. She received her B.A. in Economics and Spanish from the State University of New York at Stony Brook, where she also attended journalism school.

Recommended for you

Load comments